1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Can I do ... Without Rooting?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by seejoshplay, May 31, 2011.

  1. seejoshplay

    seejoshplay Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    May 3, 2011

    May 3, 2011
    131
    8
    36
    Hey -

    I have surfed around here and around on the web a bit, and I have been unable to answer the following question, with the caveat - I don't want to root my phone if I don't have to. If the only answer is root it - so be it, I just want to understand my options.

    Can I turn of the htc sense without rooting? I would like to try out stock android.

    Thanks very much in advance for the help.
     

    Advertisement

  2. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
  3. seejoshplay

    seejoshplay Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    May 3, 2011

    May 3, 2011
    131
    8
    36
    Thanks.

    sadness. oh well, I guess i'll get in line like everyone else. ;-)
     
  4. bik2101

    bik2101 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011

    Feb 17, 2011
    168
    16
    38
    turn off? why turn it off? just throw another launcher over it like launcherpro or go launcher or adw.
     
  5. AMTrombley0924

    AMTrombley0924 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    478
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    478
    57
    53
    Student, Air Force Cadet
    California
    It depends on what you want to "turn off." If you want the home screens to look like stock Android, LauncherPro or ADW launcher will do that. If you want to turn off all of the integration and stuff that Sense comes with, then you need to root and install a pure vanilla ROM. Unfortunately, our phone hasn't been rooted since the bootloader is locked down. I'm REALLY hoping that the GB update we get comes with an unlocked bootloader from HTC
     
    seejoshplay likes this.
  6. seejoshplay

    seejoshplay Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    May 3, 2011

    May 3, 2011
    131
    8
    36
    I got an email from HTC saying that the recent announcement only applies to future devices, but the dinc2 was not explicitly ruled out. Fingers crossed for the gingerbread update.
     
  7. seejoshplay

    seejoshplay Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    May 3, 2011

    May 3, 2011
    131
    8
    36
    Hey,

    So I am using adw launcher and really like it. However, now that it is my default option, how do I get back to the HTC sense?

    Also, does anyone else experience a lag with programs loading? Could that be because I moved things to the SD card?
     
  8. thetomlin2

    thetomlin2 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,292
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    1,292
    242
    143
    L'Etoile du Nord
    Through settings go to applications then manage applications ... Find your launcher, click it, then click clear defaults. The next time you click your home button you will be able to select sense.
     
    seejoshplay likes this.
  9. chknhwk

    chknhwk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    448
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011

    Apr 8, 2011
    448
    22
    58
    Probably a silly question but, how did you get adw launcher on it? I looked for it in the market but it doesn't show up in my search queries. I'm running go launcher and it's growing on me but I'd still like to try adw launcher.
     
  10. seejoshplay

    seejoshplay Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    May 3, 2011

    May 3, 2011
    131
    8
    36
    Try searching for adw.launcher, and I would add that the paid version is worth four bucks. Lots of very cool features. I really like the fancy icons.
     
  11. chknhwk

    chknhwk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    448
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011

    Apr 8, 2011
    448
    22
    58
    What kind of features do you get for the $4?
     
  12. seejoshplay

    seejoshplay Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    May 3, 2011

    May 3, 2011
    131
    8
    36
    Read about it on the developers website. I generally like to support folks who do really useful things for my life.

    That said, the free one probably works fine.
     

Share This Page

Loading...