1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Can I get the Weather app to use GPS instead of network location?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by wonderbread, May 15, 2010.

  1. wonderbread

    wonderbread Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    703
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    703
    297
    113
    It keeps telling me I'm in the town across the river. Maybe according to the network location I am in that town but when I go to maps and it uses GPS it realizes the proper city. The weather app often makes this mistake. I thought when I setup my device it may have asked if I want to use GPS or just network location for something but I can't find that setting anymore. Any ideas on how to get more accurate current location for the weather widget? Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. soulfetcher13

    soulfetcher13 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009

    Dec 25, 2009
    232
    32
    63
    lab guy for Coca Cola
    tennessee
    Menu, settings, location, use gps satellites
     
  3. howarmat

    howarmat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,580
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    1,580
    229
    163
    Generation Dispatcher
    Noblesville, IN
    i have to ask, how far away is the reading that its using? cell towers dont broadcast all that far, so the weather would still be pretty accurate seeing that it is only updating every hour as it is
     
  4. nightfishing

    nightfishing Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    588
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    588
    111
    93
    If you'd have ever lived on the "right" side of a town, you wouldn't want your phone thinking that you lived on the wrong side, either!
     
  5. wonderbread

    wonderbread Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    703
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    703
    297
    113
    So, I already had "Use GPS" checked but while in that menu I unchecked "Use Wireless Networks" and the weather app so far is now always identifying the correct location, on the correct side of the river :)
     
  6. howarmat

    howarmat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,580
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    1,580
    229
    163
    Generation Dispatcher
    Noblesville, IN
    that will probably use more battery if that matters to you, if not then dont worry
     

Share This Page

Loading...