1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Can I go 2.1 OTA to v3 leak?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Irie Atlantis, Jun 2, 2010.

  1. Irie Atlantis

    Irie Atlantis Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    29
    4
    16
    Indiana
    I am running v3 and my wife has the OTA. The OTA is very buggy when compared to my v3. Can I flash her phone to v3?

    The main bug/problem with her OTA is that the phone constantly puts itself into silent mode. I did not believe it (I thought she was hitting the rocker) until i witnessed it happening. BTW a reset does not fix the issue.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,679
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,679
    881
    213
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Yes you can put V3 on an OTA'd phone. Just keep in mind that there is no going back once you do so.
    Was the reset you mentioned a factory reset, as opposed to just turning the phone off and on? If not, I'd recommend doing that first.
     
  3. vertig0730

    vertig0730 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    110
    10
    38
    Network Administrator
    Florida
    Your best bet is to do a reset, I would not load the v3 on the phone. You can also root it, which would give you some very nice flexibility.
     
  4. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    454
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    I would root before doing leaking. My phone is rooted now and there are some many cooler things you can do with root. My favorite being overclocking the phone, but also if you dont like root you can always go back you cant go back with leak.
     
  5. thenestor

    thenestor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    1,038
    316
    173
    Male
    I make webs.
    Orange, California
    If the phone is experiencing the "silent bug" (losing all sound spontaneously, and only a reboot brings sound back), and you've already tried a factory reset, then you need to ask Verizon for a replacement. You've got a bad phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...