1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Can I increase CPU without rooting?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Shotgun84, Jun 27, 2011.

  1. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #58
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,698
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,698
    3,356
    423
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    I have noticed that my GS2 is running at 500MHz despite the 1.2GHz dual processor. So it's there a way to increase this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. SilverDroid

    SilverDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011

    Jun 10, 2011
    191
    69
    73
    First of all your CPU down-clocks when its not needed. It will actually go as low as 200mhz.

    Also, If you root (and why not :D) you can download and overclock using tegrak on stock ROMs :D
     
  3. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #58
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,698
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,698
    3,356
    423
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    I'm kinda reluctant to root as that was the beginning of the end of my old Galaxy S
     
  4. Rudedawg

    Rudedawg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    863
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    863
    95
    98
    Security
    Southampton UK
    Seen as the phone heats up as much as it does at 1.2 ghz , I, not sure what 1.4 would do to it lol
     
  5. lotus49

    lotus49 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,513
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    1,513
    232
    153
    Male
    Yorkshire
    Do you really think that replacing the OS is a greater risk than overclocking a phone that already has a reputation for getting hot?

    I also cannot imagine why you would want to overclock. This phone is lightning fast already. Have you noticed anything running slowly because of lack of processor power? I certainly haven't.
     
  6. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #58
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,698
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,698
    3,356
    423
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    I didn't really mention overclocking. I just want my GS2 to run at the speeds promised in the specs. I assume it is not as my quadrant score is about 1000 less than everyone else.
     
  7. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,549
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,549
    16,995
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    What are you comparing it to? My own, admittedly using VillainROM 1.4 but at stock clocks and all background processes running as normal, just scored 3136.
     
    Aatos.1 likes this.
  8. Aatos.1

    Aatos.1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    498
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010

    Dec 31, 2010
    498
    116
    88
    West Coast USA
    I just set mine up with the VillainROM 1.4 after reading your numbers. Mine returned a score of 3128, it's fast & no warmer than before. This is one outstanding performer now.

    I'm very happy with the outcome. Thanks for posting your numbers, that motivated me to use Villian 1.4.
     
  9. Russcausier82

    Russcausier82 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    27
    0
    15
    Slug,have you got any links to root the galaxy s2?as im a newbie but want to give it an attempt!:)
     
  10. lotus49

    lotus49 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,513
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    1,513
    232
    153
    Male
    Yorkshire
    OK I slightly misunderstood you although, as you will have seen earlier in the thread, the processor speed you have been seeing is as a result of the phone reducing the speed when it's not needed to save power.

    My quadrant score was about 3200, much lower than some of the scores I have seen posted and in line with Slug's score above, but my phone is very fast and everything runs very snappily.

    If your phone doesn't seem slow, then everything is working fine and I think you are worrying about nothing. If anything does seem slow, it shouldn't, this phone is super quick. If that is the case, make another thread describing the problem and we'll try to help.
     
  11. lotus49

    lotus49 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,513
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    1,513
    232
    153
    Male
    Yorkshire
    Slug likes this.
  12. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #58
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,698
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,698
    3,356
    423
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Don't get me wrong, I am more than impressed with it's speed (it wiped the floor with my friends Iphone 4). I just sore that other people were getting a higher performance out of theirs and was curious how this could be done. I guess I'm the jealous type.
     
  13. SilverDroid

    SilverDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011

    Jun 10, 2011
    191
    69
    73
    Just so you know quadrant isnt supported for dual core phones yet.

    Also you'll find if you do the benchmark run a few times scores will vary so just choose the highest one.

    Other little things that can help are exiting all tasks from task manager and then loading the benchmark app. This way you will have more free RAM available and it all helps towards the score :p

    Also, as for "some people are getting higher scores"

    Are you aware that some custom ROM's use a cheap script (technically...) to gain higher benchmark scores within apps like quadrant etc.
     
  14. lotus49

    lotus49 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,513
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    1,513
    232
    153
    Male
    Yorkshire
    As SilverDroid was implying (at least I think you were weren't you?) I think that this "extra speed" is illusory.

    I refuse to believe that two identical phones could have such large (3200-4200) performance differences. I think that you should infer from the disparity of results that Quadrant is not a very reliable benchmarking tool rather than assuming your phone is any slower than other SGS2s.
     
  15. SilverDroid

    SilverDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011

    Jun 10, 2011
    191
    69
    73
    Yep, exactly what I was saying. I dont think I've seen the scores vary that much (at stock speeds) maybe a couple of hundred, but not a thousand?

    4200 is the highest I've had at 1.45ghz
     
  16. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,549
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,549
    16,995
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    Benchmark scores are good for two things.... appraising performance tweaks on your own handset and engaging in e-peen waving contests with others. Only one of these is actually useful. Both can be fun though. :D

    Having said this, Chainfire has released a benchmarking tool that gives much more meaningful figures for dual-core handsets. It's available in the Market - look for CF-Bench.
     
  17. intruda119

    intruda119 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Running at 1.7(by mistake) for a week with no issues. Phone only gets like warm after playing games or anything intensive.
     

Share This Page

Loading...