1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Can i play my movies directly from an external HD?

Discussion in 'TV & Video' started by slipper, Oct 19, 2010.

  1. slipper

    slipper Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010

    Oct 19, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    I was just at the local Best Buy checking out the Sony Internet TV's. The one concern i had which isn't answered on the Sony website is: Am i able to connect my external HD and play my movies directly from the Sony Internet TV? The Best Buy sales person told me yes when i asked but she didn't seem to know very much else about the unit. Was she just blowing smoke up my behind?
     

    Advertisement

  2. majortom1981

    majortom1981 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010

    Oct 19, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    I have the sony blu-ray unit. They have an app for playing things off of usb hdd. I havent tried that yet but i will tyr it later tonight and post how it went.

    Keep in mind when the android store opens up you will prob be able to buy better media playing software.
     
  3. slipper

    slipper Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010

    Oct 19, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Thanks. Could you also comment on the file formats supported?

    Good point.
     
  4. simplygoogletv

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    The Logitech Revue can, but is limited to 40GB or less storage devices. I haven't heard anything specific about the Sony NSZ-GT1, I would hope it does at least the same.
     
  5. GTV

    GTV Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010

    Oct 19, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I'm using the Sony Blu-ray box (NSZ-GT1)

    I have not tried it with a USB disk but I have used the built in Media Player applications reading the media server area on my HP Windows Home Server. The Sony box is able to find and play .mp4, .m4v and .mkv files in the 2GB to 11GB size range. The Media Server app would not play .avi files. I do get occasional network dropout using Wireless N at 78mbit ("Fair" signal strength) so I'll be running a hard wired Ethernet cable to it soon when I get a chance.

    My only issue so far is a strange green vertical line (~= 10 pixels) on edge of the RHS of the TV's screen. It is annoying but not a deal breaker. Trying the setup's screen re-sizing multiple times did not make the green line go away.
     
  6. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
    the 40gb limit is NOT true. The Revue actually supports USB drives upto 895GB in size, but is limited to FAT, FAT16, and FAT32 Filesystems because of a limitation in the Android Platform. See the following FAQ Regarding the USB Drive
     
  7. jrmuller

    jrmuller Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010

    Oct 22, 2010
    9
    4
    6
    States there still working to update, but right now I can only get .avi files to work, .mp4 don't even show.. but supposedly coming soon..
     
  8. l3reak

    l3reak Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009

    Sep 8, 2009
    4
    0
    5
    Keep in mind that the file extension doesn't really matter too much, i.e. whether it's .mp4, .avi, .mkv, etc. That's just what's called the "container" format, and that container could still have any number of different types of video, such as divx, h.264, etc. So if the Revue can only play h.264 video, but not divx, it might be able to play some .avi files that have divx inside, but not play other .avi files that have h.264 inside. Depending on what type of video is inside a given .avi or .mkv, one user might find that his .avi files play but not his .mkv's, and another user finds that his .mkv files play but not his .avi's.
     
  9. krazykrivda

    krazykrivda Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    156
    16
    38
    Student
    Philly
    I have the google TV 40" and I'm trying to wireless stream video from PC (using TVersity) to the TV and having no luck. All of my library is avi format. Anyone in a similar circumstance that has a positive outcome.
     
  10. Chahk

    Chahk Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010

    Oct 22, 2010
    11
    1
    16
    I have a Synology Disk Station DS409+ NAS box with latest firmware (DSM 3.0), and my Sony Blu-Ray player (NSZ-GT1) plays everything I have on it. Mostly those are MPGs and Divx/XviD AVIs, but I also have a bunch of MP4s and AVCHDs shot with my Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX5 camera.
     
  11. Pokewithstick

    Pokewithstick Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010

    Oct 24, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    For the Sony TV, how do you view the USB drive?
    I plugged in a 500g USB drive and a 1g flash drive but I can not see where to access them. The Media Player app just wants to connect to my home server and the the "Add Devices" in the menu doesn't find drives and I can't manually add them.
    Has anyone been able to do this on the Sony Internet TV?

    Thx
     
  12. ceeya

    ceeya Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    25
    0
    15
    i have gotten the sony to see an 8 gig flash drive but wouldnt work with an external harddrive. To access the flash drive go to Media player and click on the usb icon...Joe
     
  13. OutlawFirebird

    OutlawFirebird Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    123
    6
    56
    what about a hard drive connected to you network? like ones that hooked up to your router. and by the way how do I connect the revue to a computer?, or can I?
     
  14. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
    did you guys see my link above, it might have to do with formatting the drive to 1 of the usable formats they list?
     
  15. kquade

    kquade Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010

    Oct 26, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I have the Google Tv box from Sony. I have plugged up my 8GB Sandisk flash drive and it's worked fine. I've plugged up several 320GB WD Passports and they have worked fine.

    My only issue is with my WD 1TB My Book World Edition II (network drive) plugged into my router. The Media Player sees it, and can access it, but it says that there is nothing on it. Both my PC and Laptop can read/write the files on it just fine.

    Everything is hard wired.
     
  16. PastorOfMuppets

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    Network Administrator
    Is that drive formatted in NTFS? If so it may need to be FAT as stated above. I haven't looked into it much yet but your thumb drive and passports maybe Fat32.
     
  17. mfruckus

    mfruckus Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010

    Oct 27, 2010
    5
    0
    5
  18. PastorOfMuppets

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    Network Administrator
    I haven't tried mp4 yet but so far divx/xvid has worked well. Not sure I have any mp4 files but I will sheck it out.
     
  19. rad_thundercat

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010

    Nov 1, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Creative Director
    Boca Raton, FL
    Yes, you can connect an external drive, but it's not very practical.

    The drive needs to be formatted with a FAT or FAT32 file system (no NTSF!).

    Unfortunately, those file systems don't work well with large files. I think with FAT32, no file can be over 4GB. Any HD movie with a decent compression is going to run you at LEAST that.

    So far I've learned that the Google TV is not for movies (from a local library anyway). You can stream movies from a server, but I've had very little luck with it recognizing my movies (ie, it doesn't find any .mkv files, and only picks up crap .avi SD movies).

    I hope that some 'local movie app' or similar will come out in the future to fix this. The stock Logitech app blows.
     
  20. Chahk

    Chahk Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010

    Oct 22, 2010
    11
    1
    16
    I'm using the Sony's Blu-Ray NSZ-GT1 player and that can play .mkv files from my NAS server over DLNA perfectly. 720p is the highest resolution I've tried, mostly because my TV can only do up to 1080i.

    We'll have to wait until "early 2011" for the Android Market to come to the Google TV, which will bring many options for media playback. Btw, the "Media Player" app is from Google, not Logitech.
     
  21. StrifeJester

    StrifeJester Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    313
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    313
    35
    43
    IT Network Administrator
    Abbotsford, WI
    I second the waiting for the Market update. Does anyone here remember what the original Droids were like. The market place sucked when it launched. We have to remember as early adopters this is expected you cannot roll out a product and expect everything to be there. The nice thing is the community will provide what people need over time. Within 6 months GoogleTV will be much better than today and that trend will continue just as it has on the phones.
     
  22. smal26

    smal26 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010

    Nov 25, 2010
    6
    1
    6
    i have gotten it to work with Western Digital My Book Essential 2 TB. However if i connect more than one drive. it does not see one of the drives. for example i have Western Digital My Passport Essential 1 TB and the Western Digital My Book Essential 2 TB. both connect at the same time and only the 2TB showed up. after turning it off and restarting the google TV BD device, the 1TB drives shows up under the media player. so i am not sure it supports more than one device. however i did see the full 2tb capacity and the 1tb capacity whenever it recognized one of the drives. if anyone has gotten this to work successfully with the new update of ogm_2.1_2010121503ON from sony. please let me know. thanks
     
  23. astrolab

    astrolab Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I was able to access my 500GB hitachi external harddrive (FAT32 formatted)from my Sony google tv through the "photos" app in the menu. Go down to 'local media" (the fourth tab, most likely) and you should be able to access your files from there.

    Best of luck!
    Cheers
     
  24. Doulos24x7

    Doulos24x7 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011

    Dec 29, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Professional IT Super Geek
    Hate this place.
    I have a 1tb WD Passport, trying to connect it to the Sony Google TV BD device. Can't get it to work.

    I have formatted it as FAT32...didn't work. Same with exFAT. The Sony detects the drive and will sometimes show it as a ".91tb" device...but I try to connect the Media Player to it and it does not show up.

    Then I'll go back into settings, storage and it shows the drive with the correct drive label, but as a 255mb device.

    This is jacked.
     

Share This Page

Loading...