1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root can I root my Motorola Droid that's on Page Plus?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by plmiller0905, Mar 15, 2010.

  1. plmiller0905

    plmiller0905 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    221
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    221
    21
    58
    Officer
    Big City, Wisconsin
    Can I I root and install a custom room on my Motorola Droid that's been flashed to page Plus or will it mess everything up?
     

    Advertisement

  2. vincentp

    vincentp Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,640
    59
    128
    Mortgage Underwriter
    Rochester, NY
    Hmm.. did they have to install something or modify the phone in order to get it on Page Plus? If so, flashing a ROM will probably cause problems.
     
  3. plmiller0905

    plmiller0905 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    221
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    221
    21
    58
    Officer
    Big City, Wisconsin
    That's what I was afraid of also. Another poster from another forum stated that I can root and install a custom Rom, however, I would just to make sure I update the PRL after installing the rom.

    I think Page Plus flashed the phone from verizon to Page Plus. I know that the esn had a lot to d o with that process but i don't know if has anything to do with rooting and/or adding a custom rom to it.

    IDK....I was hoping somebody already tried or actually did root their Moto Droid.
     
  4. Shadowtech

    Shadowtech Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    434
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    434
    36
    63
    Male
    Driver
    Ohio
    Now I don't really know much about flashing to other providers, but my own personal observation leads me to believe that a rom wouldn't interfere with those settings. I am pretty sure that the provider information is a completely different part of the phone and the roms just read from it to get it's settings. If that wasn't the case, then noone's phone would work with a different rom as it wouldn't have the proper ESN or PRL list.

    Again, I am not an expert, but that is just my educated guess. Maybe someone more knowledgeable will chime in on the subject to confirm.
     
  5. plmiller0905

    plmiller0905 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    221
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    221
    21
    58
    Officer
    Big City, Wisconsin
    Yeah, that's true also. I didn't think about it like that. Good point!:)
     
  6. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,842
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    1,842
    122
    143
    Queens, New York
    As far as I know, flashing SBF files with RSD Lite will require a reactivation. But adding a custom ROM never forced me to reactivate my phone, so it shouldn't touch those settings. Of course, if you screw up the phone when it's rooted and you want to get back to stock, the SBF method (cleanest and easiest) is out of the question.
     
  7. plmiller0905

    plmiller0905 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    221
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    221
    21
    58
    Officer
    Big City, Wisconsin
    So probably, my best bet is to just stay with the stock firmware.
     
  8. plmiller0905

    plmiller0905 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    221
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    221
    21
    58
    Officer
    Big City, Wisconsin
    Well I did try it and I did root it and add a custom Rom. But it was pain in the rear to unroot/remove everything and go back to stock it. I actually had to flash it and all this other stuff. But nevertheless I'm back to the stock 2.0.1 and that's all that matters.

    I guess rooting is not for me. I thought that it was something like Apple Jailbreak (Cydia, Rock etc) and you just install packages, but it's not. So I'm gonna stay where I'm at...no rooting for me. ;-)

    Thanks for everyone's help on this also
     
  9. aaronmach1

    aaronmach1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    394
    12
    48
    michigan, usa
    Is page plus just another company like verizon, nextel, sprint,etc.? never heard of it.
     
  10. plmiller0905

    plmiller0905 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    221
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    221
    21
    58
    Officer
    Big City, Wisconsin
    Yeah it is....they actually use verizon towers so they are connected with verzion so you get nationwide coverage. I got unlimited minutes and text for 39.99 a month. They also throw in 20mb of data but I kinda run through that, butI have wifi so it's no big deal.

    But yeah they're cool so far, I haven't had any complaints.
     
  11. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,842
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    1,842
    122
    143
    Queens, New York
    20MB? I could go through that in 5 minutes! :eek:

    I really don't know how anyone lives with less than 1GB as a bare minimum...
     

Share This Page

Loading...