1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root can i root on a mac??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dubs28st, Feb 6, 2010.

  1. dubs28st

    dubs28st Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    am i able to root my hero on a mac ... has anyone ever done this and what does rooting actually do?? :thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. G8D

    G8D Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    533
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009

    Sep 2, 2009
    533
    4
    61
    Yes. It's all done on the phone.

    You cannot however update officially, so rooting is your only option for getting new firmwares (and custom ROMs if you want to feel a little dirty ;) )
     
  3. Underdog

    Underdog Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Manchester UK
    Could I just ask a Question regarding rooting, If I can hold the home button and end button to get to the initial boot up screen does that mean that I am rooted? or can you do this on a none rooted phone?
     
  4. G8D

    G8D Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    533
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009

    Sep 2, 2009
    533
    4
    61
    I think that means you have root access but you need to have installed a rooted ROM to use root functions while the phone is in use.

    I think.
     
  5. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    I don't think you actually have root access at that point. All that means is you have switched the phone's recovery file. To root you need to then use that recovery file to flash a custom ROM.

    Or I think there are apps that can root the current ROM without putting on a custom one.
     
  6. G8D

    G8D Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    533
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009

    Sep 2, 2009
    533
    4
    61
    Surely the ability to install a custom ROM means you have root access? If only from the recovery mode?
     
  7. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    Yeah you're right, I didn't think of it like that :) I was only thinking in terms of having root access whilst running the phone normaly.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...