1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Can I root using the 2gb Micro SD Card that came with my Incredible?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Ender11, Aug 26, 2011.

  1. Ender11

    Ender11 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    203
    104
    68
    Puyallup, Wa
    I've finally decided to root, and there is one question I can't seem to find the answer to. I want to know if I can root even though I'm still using the 2gb FAT formatted micro SDHC card that came with the phone. I have ordered a larger card that is on the way, should I wait for the larger card before rooting, or can I safely root now and transfer the micro SD cards when it arrives? Do I need to reformat the 2gb card? Does the larger SD card that is on the way need to be specially formatted? Any advise would be much appreciated.
     

    Advertisement

  2. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #64
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    You can use the card that came with it. Nothing special *needs* to be done, but I recommend that you format the card to fat32 using a PC.
     
    Ender11 likes this.
  3. Ender11

    Ender11 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    203
    104
    68
    Puyallup, Wa
    Formatted it to fat32 as you suggested, and then completed root. Thank you.:)
     
  4. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #64
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    No problem, don't be afraid to ask questions if you run into problems.

    If you haven't already, check out the root sticky, A LOT of useful/necessary information. Will keep you from panicking if you run into problems. Familiarize yourself with clockwork, and it's options, and how it functions.
     
  5. MolBasser

    MolBasser Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011

    Jan 20, 2011
    125
    31
    43
    Research Analyst, Sierra Nevada Brewing Company
    Chico, CA
    Could you do a complete nandroid backup on such a small card?

    Wow. You must have not had much data on that thing.....

    MolBasser
     
  6. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #64
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    about 2 - 4 nandroids will fit on a 2GB sd card (if you have nothing much else on it), depending on what ROM you are backing up. Sense roms can take up close to 1GB of space, whereas AOSP (Android open source project) roms may only take 500mb.
     
    Crashumbc likes this.
  7. MolBasser

    MolBasser Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011

    Jan 20, 2011
    125
    31
    43
    Research Analyst, Sierra Nevada Brewing Company
    Chico, CA
    Guess I had a crapload on my 2gb, because I would never have been able to back up on it.....I have an 8 now, and it seems small.

    MolBasser
     
  8. Ender11

    Ender11 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    203
    104
    68
    Puyallup, Wa


    I did a complete factory reset on my phone before rooting a couple of days ago. I decided to go with a clean slate, root it, flash a rom, and then start setting things up the way I want them. Needless to say, that made for not much of a nandroid backup. I will do another backup when my 8gb arrives, and transfer everything to the larger card.

    By the way, when I decided to flash a rom, I just happened upon a conversation in one of the threads that mentioned Nils Business Gingersense 3.0 so I went ahead and flashed it without really looking at anything else. I figured, gingerbread+Sense 3.0 was a good place to start. I couldn't be more happy, it is so damn slick. My Incredible feels brand new.:)
     
  9. fallen0127

    fallen0127 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011

    Aug 6, 2011
    53
    13
    18
    Washington
    Nils makes a good Rom, I have decided to stay away from the sense 3 roms as they are resource hogs. If they could make one that I could run with 40 to 50 percent free ram I would probably run it as a daily driver. Until then I will stick to the ota leak and cm7. However this is just my preference.
     
  10. euph_22

    euph_22 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,634
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,634
    595
    213
    Grad Student (Applied/Computational Math)
    Milwaukee, WI
    That's a bad way of measuring. High memory utilization is a GOOD think in android (and linux for that matter). Empty RAM is wasted ram. You're better off using system panel or something similar to look at how much total cpu time is being used (both by sense itself and other programs/services). Obviously you want sense to use a little CPU as possible, and looking at other apps/services will tell you whether it's being stored in the RAM as it should be or whether it's getting dumped/reloaded frequently.

    Again, high RAM usage is GOOD. Empty RAM is wasted RAM.
     
  11. fallen0127

    fallen0127 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011

    Aug 6, 2011
    53
    13
    18
    Washington
    High ram usage also kills battery faster. Also high ram usage by just the basics doesn't leave room for me to play games without lag in the games. I am an avid Linux user and have been for years. I usually use mandriva, and I love free ram and CPU because that means great things for the virtual machines I like to run as well as other application. So, when the base system uses that much ram, yes it is a great measuring point.
     
  12. euph_22

    euph_22 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,634
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,634
    595
    213
    Grad Student (Applied/Computational Math)
    Milwaukee, WI
    No, it doesn't. RAM generally uses the same amount of power either way. It still needs draws a constant supply voltage to keep it active, and it gets refreshed periodically whether or not it's being used.

    And it really isn't valid to talk about VMs in a discussion of free ram (and not just because you aren't running a VM on your phone :) ). Most VM's I'm aware of use DEDICATED portion of the system ram, by which I mean when you start the VM appliance it blocks on a chunk of ram, and that is handled BY the VM and not by the host OS. It's

    I agree you method isn't completely off base, but I still say it's not what you should be looking at. Because there is essentially no cost to using otherwise empty ram, you want the system loading frequently used apps into memory and keeping them there. That way (for example) the phone doesn't need to load the browser from thin air every time I decide to look something up on google. It loads it ram ONCE, and from there it just accesses it again and again. So if some of the apps you use are cached in the RAM you definitely benefit from the high RAM utilization.

    Now lets say you open up a RAM intense game. It will allocate basically as much RAM as it can get, so Android will purge the apps that are just being stored in RAM to make room. This takes some time, but in all honesty is so fast that you really won't notice the difference. Just because there may be only 20% of the RAM free doesn't mean that's all the RAM is available.

    The upshot is a ROM that runs with 50% free RAM won't necessarily perform any better than a system running at 30% free RAM.
     
  13. fallen0127

    fallen0127 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011

    Aug 6, 2011
    53
    13
    18
    Washington
    I understand the issue with vm's blocking ram, thus where unused ram comes in handy, being with 2.5gb of ram I can run 1 to 2 vm's under win XP or 3 to 4 under Linux due to my Linux system running off much less ram. My experience is the roms that use more ram tend to kill my battery quicker. And yes I have calibrated my battery for those roms. I listen to music about 5-6 hours a day on my phone as well as take phone calls while at work. I need the phone to last. With nils with sense 3.0 I was at about 45% battery half way through my work day with my normal use. It would have been dead had I continued that way the second half of the day. It really sucks on a slow day at my job to not have these things available.

    Maybe others don't experience the same things I do, but cm7 gives me the best battery life with 40 to 50% by the end of a work day. On a busy day I have left with over 70% left.
     

Share This Page

Loading...