1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Can I send a text to multiple recipients?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Ni Dieu Ni Maitre, Oct 4, 2010.

  1. Ni Dieu Ni Maitre

    Ni Dieu Ni Maitre Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    101
    8
    36
    Student; Arby's Wage Slave
    Pennsylvania
    I just got this phone and, thus, a new phone number. I'd like to text a group of contacts (~60 people) and tell them. Can I do it? I put my cursor in the "To:" textbox and then press the icon that lets me add people from my contact list, but after I select them and press "done," it says "The message must contain valid recipients and content."

    I already typed out the body of the message, so I assume it's the contacts which are causing me problems.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Jedii

    Jedii Android Expert
    Rank:
     #142
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,112
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    1,112
    257
    183
    Analyst
    Arkansas
    I wish it was as easy as a Blackberry. One of the things i dislike about Android.

    You can download ChompSMS (its free on the market) and it will allow you to send group messages :)
     
  3. dawnierae

    dawnierae Android Expert
    Rank:
     #117
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,261
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    1,261
    875
    233
    Insurance for fancy ass resorts
    VA
    Handcent also allows group messages.
     
  4. JSD_NJ

    JSD_NJ Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010

    Sep 26, 2010
    143
    9
    36
    :thinking:

    On my Blackberry, I could send a text to a maximum of 10 people at one time.

    With my Droid X, I can select a bunch of names from my contacts and send to all of them. This is in the stock messaging app as well as hancent.

    I dont see how the BB is easier?
     
  5. Jedii

    Jedii Android Expert
    Rank:
     #142
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,112
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    1,112
    257
    183
    Analyst
    Arkansas
    Im assuming you mean the cap of 20. And with Blackberry, it was easier for me to create small groups and send out the messages. IMHO.

    Im confused how this is relevant to the OP? I recommended the OP to ChompSMS, because i find it easy.
     
  6. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,959
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,959
    25,351
    3,933
    Male
    Just wanna give you a head's up. I've moved two of your threads to the support area, as I read them and they are asking for help. Please understand, this is not a personal attack, but an effort to get your questions longer exposure time.


    Welcome to the DX area! Enjoy the phone! :D I do!!!
     
  7. JSD_NJ

    JSD_NJ Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010

    Sep 26, 2010
    143
    9
    36
    No, my curve only let me select 10 people at one time. If I wanted to text 20 people I couldnt do it all at once.

    With my Droid X, I can select my whole contact list and send it if I want. I dont know if that would work though as Ive never tried it.

    I like Chomp as well, but it would be perfect if it allowed you to select multiple/batch mode like stock and handcent.
     
  8. Ni Dieu Ni Maitre

    Ni Dieu Ni Maitre Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    101
    8
    36
    Student; Arby's Wage Slave
    Pennsylvania
    Oh, it's okay. I wasn't sure which sub-forum my questions belonged in, so I threw them on the main page. No problem. I'm much more annoyed by people who come into my topics only to tell me I posted something in the wrong sub-forum, as if I'm single-handedly ruining their day with such a trivial mistake.

    Also, ChompSMS worked just fine. Thanks all.
     
  9. JSD_NJ

    JSD_NJ Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010

    Sep 26, 2010
    143
    9
    36
    Just curious, what did Chomp do that the stock app didnt? Were you able to send a mass text to 60 people simultaneously?
     
  10. Ni Dieu Ni Maitre

    Ni Dieu Ni Maitre Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    101
    8
    36
    Student; Arby's Wage Slave
    Pennsylvania
    Seems like the difference is that, after selecting everyone I wanted to send a message to, Chomp actually added all of the names to the recipients list, where as the stock app didn't do anything. With the stock app, I'd plow through my contact list selecting people/numbers to send my message to, then when I'd click "done" it was as if I had done nothing at all. I performed the same procedure with Chomp and it worked as I'd have expected it to work.
     
  11. JSD_NJ

    JSD_NJ Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010

    Sep 26, 2010
    143
    9
    36
    Hmm, thats weird. In the stock app after I select everyone they all appear in the list. :thinking:

    Are you able to send a large amount of texts like that with no issues? (dropping or send failure)
     
  12. Ni Dieu Ni Maitre

    Ni Dieu Ni Maitre Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    101
    8
    36
    Student; Arby's Wage Slave
    Pennsylvania
    Only one or two people didn't get the text I sent to the whole group, and they're people whose numbers I expect have changed. One number was a land line, I think.
     
  13. JSD_NJ

    JSD_NJ Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010

    Sep 26, 2010
    143
    9
    36
    Problem I have found with Chomp and Handcent, if I send to multiple receipients, when they reply, it doesnt show the original message, so I have no idea what they are replying to.

    LAME!
     
  14. Jedii

    Jedii Android Expert
    Rank:
     #142
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,112
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    1,112
    257
    183
    Analyst
    Arkansas
    haha. yeah....thats almost got me in trouble before at work.

    I send out messages to my staff, and forget what they are talking about when they reply 6 hours later. haha
     
  15. JSD_NJ

    JSD_NJ Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010

    Sep 26, 2010
    143
    9
    36
    For me its a deal breaker. This is my business phone and I use it to text employees their schedules. When they reply I need to know what shift I had them in for.

    This forces me to use the stock messaging app with ******ed ordering.
     
  16. JSD_NJ

    JSD_NJ Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010

    Sep 26, 2010
    143
    9
    36
    Sorry to revisit this, but with Chomp you were able to text 60 people simultaneously?

    I just tried to text 40 but it said carrier limit was 20, so I had to send 2 messages.
     
  17. Ni Dieu Ni Maitre

    Ni Dieu Ni Maitre Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    101
    8
    36
    Student; Arby's Wage Slave
    Pennsylvania
    Yeah. It said one or two people didn't get it (oddly enough, one of the people who supposedly didn't get my text managed to reply to it - go figure), but the rest went just fine, as far as I can tell. I know I didn't get any messages about carrier limits or anything.
     
  18. retz119

    retz119 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    In Handcent there is a setting to "send as split thread" which will do what you're asking. Its under send message settings
     

Share This Page

Loading...