1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Can I tell an app to NOT update?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by kspn, Feb 3, 2011.

  1. kspn

    kspn Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010

    Oct 20, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Hi,

    I have been using an app (Aldiko) that had an update and I (foolishly) updated it. I then discovered that the good parts of the update were far outweighed by the bad parts.

    I have managed to find and install an older version of the app, but I was wondering if there was a way of telling the app to NOT check for and insatall updates (I like using the update all button, it simplifies things)

    If not then i will have to go back to manually updating each app.

    Thanks in advance :)

    kspn
     

    Advertisement

  2. AngryHatter

    AngryHatter Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    973
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011

    Jan 21, 2011
    973
    92
    78
    QA Admin
    SoCal
    You can tell it not to update on the market page for the app.
    When it does find an update and brings you to that page there is a box for Automatically Update.
    You can also turn off the notifications of new found updates.
     
  3. kspn

    kspn Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010

    Oct 20, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Where can I tell it not to update?

    I can only see buttons for

    • Update
    • Uninstall
    a Checkbox for 'Allow Autmomatic updating'
    a 'Search' Icon.

    And the Menu only has:

    • Search
    • My Apps
    • Settings
    • Help
    • Home
    • Security
     
  4. AllYourBase

    AllYourBase Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Go to Android Market on your phone.
    Hit the "Menu" button on your phone.
    Select "My Apps", and pick the app you want to disable updates on.
    When the app comes up, uncheck the box that says "Allow automatic updating".

    That should do it!
     
  5. kspn

    kspn Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010

    Oct 20, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Hi,

    Unfortunately that isn't what I am looking for.

    What I am looking for is in effect removing the app from the list of 'updates found' when I click the 'Update All' button in the My Apps list.

    I don't have it automatically updating (actually the only App I have that enabled for is Google Maps)

    The other apps I update by clicking Updtae All generally.

    However I want to exclude this app (aldiko) from updating at all.

    It is starting to look like I will need to manually update each app to avoid updating one specific App though :(

    K
     
  6. drowe

    drowe Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #401
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    185
    49
    63
    Male
    North Carolina
    If you are rooted, you can use Ti Backup to "detach from Market". I think that will do what you want.
     
  7. kspn

    kspn Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010

    Oct 20, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    It looks like it would do what I want, but the function is only available on the Pro version and I don't tihnk that $5 is worth it for just one app (I may of course change my mind later on depending on how irritated I get)

    The rest of the features (at this stage) don't really interest me, although the ability to backup and revert an app (just in case the same thing happenes to another app) *might* prove useful.
     
  8. Rob_A

    Rob_A Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    825
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    825
    216
    113
    New York
    I have 2 apps that I do not want to update. They are ALWAYS on my apps page waiting for the updates and I find it annoying sometimes. lol

    There is no way to turn this off.

    In appbrain, you can... but I don't use appbrain as much as the official market.
     
  9. Hrethgir

    Hrethgir Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,684
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010

    Feb 16, 2010
    1,684
    225
    163
    Male
    Intel fab tech
    Salem, OR
    I second AppBrain. You can tell it to ignore updates for certain apps. But it isn't as fast or easy to update using AppBrain, it basically takes you to each apps market page and asks you what you want to do.
     

Share This Page

Loading...