1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Can I use GPS to generate waypoint logs without a network?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tomicdesu, Jan 15, 2010.

  1. tomicdesu

    tomicdesu Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010

    Jan 15, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Hi, I'm considering buying a GPS phone (specifically G1) to get as a side effect a GPS unit I can use while travelling in the deep desert, so that I can collect track/log data for later, offline geolocation of photographs I take on the trip.

    I specifically do NOT need maps, navigation, and all that urban GPS rot. I just need some way to record either the raw NMEA data (ugh) or some reasonably nice app that simply logs GPS data for me in a place-nice format. I'm trying to avoid buying a standalone GPS unit, since all I need is the GPS log and who needs more gadgets with power cubes, cables and adapters to live with?

    I'll be off-network for 2, 3 days at a time, I can keep the thing charged and all that. With all the marketing noise it' shard to find any real specs on GPS and other sensor data.

    Any help in this direction would be helpful. Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. wmshub

    wmshub Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    10
    1
    16
    I think that it depends on the phone. My Samsung Moment cannot do that. With no cell towers, GPS cannot start up. This ticks me off, I was hoping to use my moment as a GPS while hiking, but it doesn't work at all.

    I have heard that other phones are capable of doing what you want, but I'd try to find somebody with the phone you want to be sure, before you buy it.
     
  3. DarkTLRrider

    DarkTLRrider Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    227
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008

    Nov 29, 2008
    227
    14
    38
    Boise ID
    On the G1 I know you can do it with My Tracks. I have tried it and it works in airplane mode. The map screen will be blank until you get signal again but it still tracks the GPS and records it, so other programs should too.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...