1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Can I use my X10 as a modem?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by chiko930, Jun 7, 2010.

  1. chiko930

    chiko930 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    Hi, can anyone tell me whether I can use my X10 as a modem for my laptop?

    I've been told that if I download PC suite then I can but I can't seem to get my phone to sync with it.

    Any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. mikecoulter

    mikecoulter Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    46
    5
    16
    UK
    When you plug your phone in to your computer, unlock your phone and select internet sharing.
     
  3. chiko930

    chiko930 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    I don't think I have that option :thinking:
     
  4. skimminstones

    skimminstones Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #412
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    335
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009

    Sep 20, 2009
    335
    52
    53
    Think its only HTCs that have that option. Or 2.1 phones, not sure.
     
  5. kamm

    kamm Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    101
    12
    38
    nyc
    Get EasyTether Lite for free from the Market then say thank you for me... :D
     
    pjembernate likes this.
  6. spiffykidd

    spiffykidd Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1
    1
    6
    Does it work with a Macbook Pro?
     
    pjembernate likes this.
  7. frankbonatelli

    frankbonatelli Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    203
    30
    43
    Globally employed
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Try PDAnet. They Mac tether and the paid app for your phone is 9.99. They have a free trial too.
     
  8. ariahha

    ariahha Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3
    0
    5
  9. ariahha

    ariahha Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3
    0
    5
  10. dereksaunders9

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    1
    1
    6
    :):):):):)thank you very much for your advice kamm, i have just got my sony x10 and i used easy tether it worked straight away n works perfect for me :):):)
     
    pjembernate likes this.
  11. gavindeadman02

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Media / advertising
    London
    Wow, i've been trying to sort this for ages. Thanks guys, really appreciate it. 3G is quicker than my normal broadband :).
     
  12. awmilton

    awmilton Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Student
    try barnacle. it works unbelievably well for me. turns your phone into a wireless hotsot.
     
  13. saltorio

    saltorio Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    264
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    264
    17
    58
    Graphic Designer
    Ottawa, ON (Canada)
    Hey guys, please keep warez off this forum.

    I would also second the suggestion to try PdaNet. Works very well.

    If you want wireless tethering and have rooted your X10, then definitely look at Barnacle. It's free, and works wonderfully, though will eat your battery for lunch.
     
  14. SErooted

    SErooted Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Saltorio,

    along with everyone else that has posted. thank you all. your dedication to searching and locating certain files is much appreciated. the reason i message you is i see that you have an x10a rooted and os of 2.1..... i have had no luck on flashing or installing roms. is there any advice that you may be able to lend? in advance..... thank you for your time and response. SErooted
     
  15. pjembernate

    pjembernate Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011

    Mar 19, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    thank you so much!!! i also used etherlite and I got connected.. I can finally used my internet data!:D
     
  16. mr_esmit

    mr_esmit Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    89
    2
    16
    Root and then download Barnacle from the market FTW!!!!!
     
  17. Wisenos

    Wisenos Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    519
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010

    Aug 13, 2010
    519
    23
    83
    you wouldn't understand lol
    ^^
     
  18. cybersans

    cybersans Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011

    Jul 20, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    until they provide modem driver for android phone, especially sony xperia, then they will be impossible to make your phone as a modem and bridging the connection (eg: dial from your pc using *99#). right now the only option is to share your already connected internet by your phone with a pc, which means phone act as a router.
     
  19. se.xperia

    se.xperia Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011

    Aug 16, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    you may download 2.3 gingerbread and update your android... thats it!
    you now have a wifi hotspot on your phone to connect your laptop and use as a modem.
     

Share This Page

Loading...