1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Can No Longer Use My Music As Alarm/Ringtone, What Happened???

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by darklord74, Jun 7, 2011.

  1. darklord74

    darklord74 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Until recently I was able to just go into clock and choose any of my music as my alarm, but now no longer an option. I don't know what caused this change on my phone but the option to choose my music is no longer there.

    Recently installed Ringdroid, and the new android music app. Thought they might be the problem so uninstalled ringdroid and uninstalled music updates rolling back to stock android music app (V2.3.4)

    Also recently manually installed the Gingerbread 2.3.4 update.

    I'm on a Samsung Nexus S (Rogers) and I'm not rooted.

    Read somewhere that a file called ".nomedia" showed up in the root of some users' SD cards. When deleted it solves the problem, but I can't find such a file on my SD card using ES file explorer. Do i need to root my phone to find this file and remove it?

    HELP! I really wish I knew what caused this problem (so I can avoid it again) and how to fix this and put my phone back the way it was.

    This is exactly why I ditched my iPhone for my Nexus to get the so called "Pure android experience" and be able to use my phone the way I want to. If this was caused by my music update or my gingerbread update, I don't understand why Google would remove this feature, it's a step backward and very Apple-like move.
     

    Advertisement

  2. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,109
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,109
    24,083
    3,118
    Scotland
    .nomedia is a hidden system file and by default, in ES File Explorer, it's hidden.

    To see it, Open ES then Menu -> Settings -> File Settings -> Show Hidden Files. It should show up in your searches now.
     
  3. darklord74

    darklord74 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Thanks, I did that but I didn't see the file present on my SD card so I guess that's not the problem. I know that others have found it using Rootexplorer so I wondered if I need to root to find it and get rid of it.
     
  4. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,109
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,109
    24,083
    3,118
    Scotland
    It could just be a quirk of the upgrade process? I know when DHD owners were updated to 2.3.3 recently, it stated they wouldn't lose data, but there were a few cases of certain things going missing.

    Take a look on your SD Card for a folder called Alarms, that should be where they're stored. If you can't find it, you can create one (anywhere on the SD) and drop any music file in there, it should show up in the list the next time you try to change the alarm tone.
     
  5. jakubko87

    jakubko87 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    2
    1
    6
    hello my friends. Iam facing the same problem like you just described. After updating default music player (from the one with the icon of note to the one with the icon of headphones) I can no longer use my music as a ringtone or alarm tone. I did what you suggested with the .nomedia file but no change. So simple function and so complicated to live without it... DO U HAVE ANY OTHER SUGGESTIONS WHAT TO DO NOW? thanks in fwd
     
  6. Crimson13

    Crimson13 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010

    Nov 23, 2010
    82
    6
    36
    System Designer
    Put Ringtones in a Ringtones folder in the root of your as card and Alarms in a folder called Alarms.
     
  7. jakubko87

    jakubko87 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    2
    1
    6
    problem solved with downgrading of music player. Obviously new music player has no option of using song as a ringtone as the old one.
     
    hwane likes this.
  8. hwane

    hwane Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Yep.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...