1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Can the Eris be retro-fitted with a processor that doesn't suck?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Apollos, Jan 30, 2010.

  1. Apollos

    Apollos Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    48
    1
    36
    This may be a completely asinine question, but I would LOVE this phone if the processor didn't completely suck and translate to near-constant lag. I don't want a Nexus One, I want a fast Eris...sigh.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Eric2

    Eric2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    211
    6
    36
    I highly doubt anyone would be able to replace the processor/chip set.
     
  3. Ryobi

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    330
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010

    Jan 24, 2010
    330
    16
    38
    NY
    I think the problem here and I may be way off base, is the combination of sense and android 1.5. They are not working well together. The phone has a decent enough processor to handle this stuff. So until root has been achieved or we get 2.xx, live with it.

    BTW, my Eris is working fine for me. Minimal lag, if any. I love this little guy.
     
  4. hrbib21

    hrbib21 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    878
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    878
    34
    78
    Pro Desk Driver
    Myrtle Beach SC
    Get another phone.
    Same. I have a bunch of apps and no lag. In this case, there appears to be an "interface problem".
     
  5. Apollos

    Apollos Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    48
    1
    36
    No, the phone IS slow. If you're coming from a BlackBerry, it probably seems pretty fast.

    Coming from an iPhone 3GS...its painful to say the least. I didn't get the MotoDroid only because I have no use for a slide out keyboard.
     
  6. hallstevenson

    hallstevenson Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    791
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    791
    26
    68
    If Sense is part of the problem, turn it off.
     
  7. smacky

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,844
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    2,844
    299
    163
    How do you turn Sense off?
     
  8. Caddyman

    Caddyman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    3,216
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    3,216
    638
    233
    Mechanical Piping Designer
    Delaware
    in the tips and trick thread there is a way to turn sense off. i really dont have much of any lag at all....so idk what to tell you...
     
  9. Apollos

    Apollos Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    48
    1
    36
    for those of you saying you don't have any lag...what was your previous phone?
     
  10. snorge

    snorge Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    337
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009

    Nov 20, 2009
    337
    14
    38
    I bought and installed the OpenHome interface and the lag I had been experiencing is completely gone now regardless of which apps I have running. I think it is Sense afterall. To be honest I like the look of OpenHome better anyway it seems a bit more professional.
     
  11. Caddyman

    Caddyman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    3,216
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    3,216
    638
    233
    Mechanical Piping Designer
    Delaware
    doesn't matter what our previous phone was, i know lag when i see it...plain and simple.
     
  12. ericDylan

    ericDylan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    618
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    618
    34
    68
    Full-time Student
    Atlanta, GA
    i have no lag and probably 20 apps (conservative estimate) >>> i am coming for an LG dare and BB tour and also have a 3rd gen. ipod touch to compare it to
     
  13. Ryobi

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    330
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010

    Jan 24, 2010
    330
    16
    38
    NY
    Nokia E71.
     
  14. korben dallas

    korben dallas Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    124
    5
    36
    Once its rooted, overclocking the CPU would help.
     
  15. frickingphil

    frickingphil Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    64
    1
    16
    Ontario, CA
    Haha, that's probably why the Eris is relatively laggy to you.

    iPhone OS + that next gen CPU (relative to the Eris) = smooth sailing

    I came from an iPhone 3G and I'm loving it...one of the things I noticed that seemed to help with the lag was to use a keyboard other than the HTC Touch Input. I use AnySoftKeyboard and it's amazing, and the lag difference is to the point where the keyboard feels just as responsive as my old iPhone 3G. (hooray, no more waiting for it to catch up to my typing!)

    That, and AnySoftKeyboard lets you turn auto-capitalization off. That was a huge pet peeve for me because I'm rarely typing formally when I'm on the phone, it's usually texting with slang or IMs which look oddly pretentious when I'm sending sentences that look like "Lol that's hella dumb rofl" with the first letter capitalized and no punctuation.
     
  16. bagged00

    bagged00 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009

    Dec 12, 2009
    78
    1
    16
    i notice alot of lag in mine too.kinda agravating but i just deal with it.
     
  17. tarponbeach

    tarponbeach Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    359
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    359
    68
    53
    I came from an iPhone 3Gs, and I agree that the Eris is slower, but not to the point that it really bothers me.

    The biggest difference for me is the speed that the browser renders web pages. But, for me, the ability to totally customize the phone beats the iPhone hands down.

    Also, I can actually make and receive phone calls on the Eris, which was always an adventure on the iPhone and AT&T.

    Having used the Eris for over a month, I could never go back to Apple's operating system. IMHO, Android & Sense are the best OS that currently exists for a smartphone.
     
  18. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    9,692
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    9,692
    8,365
    813
    Right Behind You
    I have been at a dinner party for most of the night. As usual I gravitated over to all the tech people and we started talking phones. There was a good mix of iPhone, blackberry and Winmo users there. Oddly, I was the only Android user and the only girl. They were all interested to see my phone and make comparisons. My Eris smoked the blackberries as most would expect. It held its own with the iPhones. Doing much better than a 1st gen and pretty much matching a 3gs in most ways. He did do better than me on loading 2 out of the 5 websites we tried. The only clear winner was a guy that had an HD2. Holly crap was that thing fast! They all liked it though and 2 of them said they were going to go look at Droids tomorrow.

    I think it really depends on what you are doing with the phone, but I don't see much of a problem with it and neither did they.

    Ok, back to the party.
     
  19. Demos16

    Demos16 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    41
    0
    15
    Coram, NY

    I came from the iPhone as well, and I must say that I agree with everything you said as far as the OS is concerned. This is much more customizable which is very appealing.
     
  20. trav473

    trav473 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    689
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    689
    134
    113
    coming from a winmo xv6900. the eris is where its at.
     
  21. Crondar

    Crondar Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    32
    2
    16
    No lag much to speak of here, I have quite a few apps, and I use Advanced task killer sometimes also (it's a habit coming from a WinMo phone:p). In any case It works fine for me, when I do start to notice a few hiccups(lag). I clean out my cache on some programs and reboot.
     
  22. W4LLY

    W4LLY Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    675
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    675
    36
    68
    NYC
    ...and then you'll be crying at how much worse your battery is. Phone companys purposely underclock processors for battery purposes. Scary right?
     
  23. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,380
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    2,380
    286
    163
    Restaurant Owner and Chef
    Denver
    When I first got my Eris I thought it was very laggy, but I think it was a app I downloaded I went back took some apps off, cleared my cache and just set things up diffrently and now the thing FLYS...Can't wait for a root and 2.xx , this really is a good phone especially for the cost.

    The thing about Andoid phones vs Iphones (in my opinion at least) is that the Iphone is out of the box set up and ready to easily use, the Android phones I have expierence with (Droid and Eris) need to be customized to fit your needs, once i got my screens set , proper widgets and good apps the phone runs great.. Before customizing it to my taste , it was annoyingly slow
     
  24. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,380
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    2,380
    286
    163
    Restaurant Owner and Chef
    Denver
    Yes clearing the cache and restarting your phone occasionaly, makes a huge diffrence
     

Share This Page

Loading...