1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Can the HTC Sprint Hero be used on any other network

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Bill, Mar 4, 2010.

  1. Bill

    Bill Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    115
    16
    38
    Hello,

    Well Sprint pissed of a co-worker of mine after a few days after the 30 day mark and now wants nothing to do with Sprint. He loves the phone but like I said will have nothing to do with Sprint network. So I am wondering if he has any options with using it on any other network by possibly flashing the phone or something.

    I believe he has settled everything with Spring paid the early termination fees and payed up on his bills. So does he have any options now?

    Thank you

    Bill
     

    Advertisement

  2. jmxp69

    jmxp69 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010

    Feb 26, 2010
    208
    121
    68
    Engineering Manager
    Eris on VZW is $79 with 2yr contract right now. I don't believe you can move phones around from one CDMA network to another.
     
  3. jmxp69

    jmxp69 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010

    Feb 26, 2010
    208
    121
    68
    Engineering Manager
    PS He could easily get $79 for a Hero on eBay as long as the ESN is clean.
     
  4. Bill

    Bill Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    115
    16
    38
    Yeah, from what I understand it is technically possible but Verizon will not allow the HTC Sprint hero on their network, Just as Sprint would not allow the Eris on theirs. Which raise an interesting question when the Nexus one comes out for Verizon will sprint make concessions for that phone?


    I mentioned this as well and he did not like the fact he would be in another contract. I think he paid a little over a hundred for the phone then had to pay $200 termination fee. So he has over $300 in the phone now.

    BTW - how does one confirm he has a clean ESN? Does he have to call sprint?

    Thanks
     
  5. Bill

    Bill Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    115
    16
    38
  6. gv8217

    gv8217 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Hi all, I have a droid eris flashed to metropcs and it is working like a champ. Obviously metropcs just flashed the PRL to support voice/txt only. I had to go and make changes to EPST and APN's to enable email/mms and web browsing.
     
  7. newman1411

    newman1411 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Hey gv8217 I just flashed A Sprint Hero to Metro down here in Tampa.....can you please share your changes on APN's to enable email and MMS Internet!

    would be greatly appreciated!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...