1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

can U.S. Cellulars HTC Desire be flashed to Sprint?

Discussion in 'Sprint' started by chinkster, Sep 13, 2010.

  1. chinkster

    chinkster Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    316
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    316
    11
    38
    SF
    as title says...since us cellular has the htc desire, i was wondering if it can be flashed and used on sprint since sprint phones SUCK! either too huge or too small! i need a 3.7 inch high end phone!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. jen8112

    jen8112 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    650
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    650
    34
    88
    Seacoast, NH
    No, Sprint will not activate non-Sprint branded phones.
     
  3. silencer271

    silencer271 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    194
    14
    38
    though I wil say this I heard a rumor sprint maybe getting some kind of variant of the Desire... as what who knows could be the hero 2 instead of using the legend. Either way though ALOT Of phones are coming so keep the eyes open.
     
  4. Pedestal4G

    Pedestal4G Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010

    Oct 6, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Hi my name is Adam and I represent Sprint and although we would like to, we cannot activate phones that are not under the Sprint CDMA network.
     
  5. silencer271

    silencer271 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    194
    14
    38
    technically then sprint could activate any Verizon phone and US cellular and cricket since they roam under the sprint CDMA network.. but thats not why they dont activate them the offical word is programming them to work is the issue but personally I know the real reason is they want you to buy from sprint. Since all the CDMA carriers as of right now use the same bands. It wouldnt be hard to program a droid 2 to work on sprint. But since the ESN is not in the sprint system it wont work. I wish congress would approve the intercarrier allowing you to take your phone to another network and allowing it to be activated no questions asked (as long as its the same type of carrier)
     
  6. chinkster

    chinkster Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    316
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    316
    11
    38
    SF
    tell sprint to fire whoever is choosing their phone selection then!! sprint is picking up all the garbage phones that other carriers dont even want!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...