1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Can VM Heap size effect battery? / What does it effect exactly ?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Unit, May 10, 2012.

  1. Unit

    Unit Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012

    Feb 9, 2012
    20
    0
    15
    Some people say they cant get to low numbers ,the lowest i went to is 32 without problems . but what d oes it really effect phonewise ?
     

    Advertisement

  2. HereticSins

    HereticSins Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,507
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011

    Nov 30, 2011
    1,507
    278
    183
    Male
    Dad, Computer Engineer student, Public Service.
    Palm Springs, California.
    Its the amount of memory( ram) apps can use. Personally the bigger the better since it lets bigger apps run faster. It wouldn't affect battery life much though. 32 is a good setting though.
     
  3. mrpnut

    mrpnut THE WORLD IS YOURS
    Rank:
     #60
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,525
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    3,525
    1,783
    413
    Male
    trying to concur the world
    CALI
    yes the bigger the better lol I set my vm heap size on 262m and its running bad a$$

    [​IMG]
     
  4. HereticSins

    HereticSins Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,507
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011

    Nov 30, 2011
    1,507
    278
    183
    Male
    Dad, Computer Engineer student, Public Service.
    Palm Springs, California.
    How did you get it to go so high? Mine only goes up to 50 lol. On ROM toolbox.
     
  5. V SuperUser V

    V SuperUser V Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    818
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012

    Mar 29, 2012
    818
    339
    113
    You manually edit the build prop via a file manager or rom tool box
     
    HereticSins likes this.
  6. eljefe0000

    eljefe0000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    673
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011

    Jan 18, 2011
    673
    87
    78
    importer/exporter/gravedigger
    NYC
    yes please explain how is it so high
     
  7. HereticSins

    HereticSins Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,507
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011

    Nov 30, 2011
    1,507
    278
    183
    Male
    Dad, Computer Engineer student, Public Service.
    Palm Springs, California.
    Yup just set mine to 72 ha. Thanks.:)
     
  8. V SuperUser V

    V SuperUser V Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    818
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012

    Mar 29, 2012
    818
    339
    113
    To save a vm heap size using rom tool box pick a value that doubles the set amount, ie if it's at 48 and you want at over 100s, then 48x2x2=192m then save, other wise I think it won't save.. Then go back to build prop tweaks and adjust as needed
     
  9. mrpnut

    mrpnut THE WORLD IS YOURS
    Rank:
     #60
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,525
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    3,525
    1,783
    413
    Male
    trying to concur the world
    CALI
    I use ROM tool box go to buld.prop and changed ur vm heap size but remember do this at ur own risk
     
  10. eljefe0000

    eljefe0000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    673
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011

    Jan 18, 2011
    673
    87
    78
    importer/exporter/gravedigger
    NYC
    would this be under build.prop editor/ dalvik.vm.heapsize
    just wanna make sure
     
  11. V SuperUser V

    V SuperUser V Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    818
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012

    Mar 29, 2012
    818
    339
    113
    Yes
     
    eljefe0000 likes this.
  12. mrpnut

    mrpnut THE WORLD IS YOURS
    Rank:
     #60
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,525
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    3,525
    1,783
    413
    Male
    trying to concur the world
    CALI
    I'm late lol
     
  13. Fuzzy13

    Fuzzy13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    7,290
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    7,290
    2,503
    413
    Engineer
    A-T-L-A-N-T-A
    Be careful ;)
     
  14. androiduser96

    androiduser96 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    381
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011

    Dec 29, 2011
    381
    32
    43
    Hialeah, FL
    Okay, I'm lost. I don't get it why people then recommend to have it at like 48 and stuff? What's the purpose of having it low? If the higher the better? I'm just asking :) I'm pretty confused!
     
  15. HereticSins

    HereticSins Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,507
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011

    Nov 30, 2011
    1,507
    278
    183
    Male
    Dad, Computer Engineer student, Public Service.
    Palm Springs, California.
    Its not actually better. You have to find the middle ground. Because if you have it to big, the memory(ram) will be all used up by some apps and will cause laggyness and foreclosers in others.
    Try to stay with the lowest possible setting that lets your phone run smooth.
     
  16. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,418
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    6,418
    1,204
    353
    Male
    MECHANIC OBDII. NOS. FUEL INJECTION. Saving a Life
    Park Ave., HELL
    someone should have told him in ROM tool box, if u click on the settings it will give you the option to make a back up. this is helpful, cause if your phone goes into boot loop this will help to bring the values back to stop the boot loop... just saying it was helpful to me..
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...