1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Can we make a update.zip

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by TCTTomT, Jan 12, 2012.

  1. TCTTomT

    TCTTomT Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    24
    1
    16
    I am still quite new to this however with the amount of people having trouble with odin on the new prevails I was wondering if we can make an update.zip file to load CWM. This may be a ignorent question so keep in mind i do not fully understand this all I do know is if I go to do a factory recet it also gives the option to load update.zip

    The phone does not give the option to browse for it it only grabs update.zip so if we put the CWM files in update.zip and put the stick.zip file on the sd card could that work?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,444
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    Also, what about making an app installer? (similar to ROM manager, but made for the prevail)
    If Koush could just 'add support' for our phone at a whim, wouldn't it be possible for one of or local genius' to make it? Or maybe add it as a feature to ACS updater? Just a thought...
     
  3. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,457
    413
    Jax Fl
    The problem with an update zip is it has to be signed with samsung's keys
    which means unless we get samsung approval/or spend a sh*! ton of money its not going to work.
     
  4. Kcsuper

    Kcsuper Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011

    Nov 22, 2011
    189
    25
    43
    CT
    May I ask New Optimus, how do you know that?Like where'd to gain that knowledge??
     
  5. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,457
    413
    Jax Fl
    I believe I read it in one of shabby's posts sometime back in july maybe.

    Also did some testing of it at that time as well, I put named one of the rom zips update.zip and tried it using stock recovery and it started to work but then it said aborted unsigned zip.

    I then tried with the original EE14 update from samsung renamed it update.zip it too aborted but for a different reason it said key sign was correct but it was not fully update able by that method.
     
    TCTTomT likes this.
  6. TCTTomT

    TCTTomT Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    24
    1
    16
    New idea since my problem is that they may have blocked odin is there an old update i could use to go back to the old software/firmware that doesnt block odin?
     
  7. TCTTomT

    TCTTomT Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    24
    1
    16
    Problem solved i have CWM 5 now the issue was that i had an outdated version of odin I read that i 3.95 is what we use for the prevail however it did not work untill i used 4.42 it did not work the first time i ran it 3 times but the fact is that it worked odin is definatley not blocked...yet
     
  8. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,297
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,297
    23,684
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Guys,

    I've moved this thread for you to the all-things-root sub-forum for the Prevail.

    Cheers!
     
    kristopher5823 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...