1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Can You Install Android On A Laptop?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Anjunabeats, Mar 3, 2011.

  1. Anjunabeats

    Anjunabeats Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Hi all,

    I have a ZTE Blade running the Android OS, & I am so impressed with it, I would like to install it on my 64-bit laptop.......is this possible?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. PSkeptic

    PSkeptic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011

    Jan 10, 2011
    905
    97
    78
    IT Project Manager
    Buffalo, NY USA
  3. Anjunabeats

    Anjunabeats Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    :( That is a shame, because I love this OS! Come on Android OS people.......bring out a 64-bit version! :D
     
  4. Wisenos

    Wisenos Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    519
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010

    Aug 13, 2010
    519
    23
    83
    you wouldn't understand lol
    tried android x86 on my old IBM thinkpad 600E
    works very nicely
    as a itried it on my main rig (ph II x4 965 BE with 32" screen and gotta love it) everything works from start
    sound/network/video
    only bad point is market (not working as we'd like to - or it's me and too noob to get it work right)
     
  5. mammador

    mammador Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    7
    0
    25
    I thought Android was only a mobile OS?
     
  6. dots

    dots Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    965
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    965
    245
    93
    Shelby Township, MI
    The code is there so it can be ported/and has been. I'm assuming that since android uses a modified linux kernel that also helps in the porting.
     
  7. Martimus

    Martimus One bite at a time...
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    19,535
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    19,535
    4,045
    843
    Male
    Engineer
    'neath a cactus
    Intel is working on a port of Android for it's x86 processors. I believe this port is being done in support of the upcoming Cisco CIUS tablet which will be equipped with an Intel Atom processor.
     
  8. operant

    operant Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    155
    13
    58
    Yes you can but not 64 bit as others have said. But to tell you the truth android is light enough to run pretty damn quick in a x86 system.

    I'd also like to point out that 64 bit has yet to catch fire - there isn't exactly a ton of x64 programs for windows.
     
  9. DexTyler

    DexTyler Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    212
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    212
    16
    38
    Acer is working on making quite a few Android OS laptops in the near future.
     
  10. snapper.fishes

    snapper.fishes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,279
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    2,279
    263
    163
    The same goes for ASUS.

    In the mean time, you can use raunlendar to make your desktop look like honeycomb.
     
  11. PSkeptic

    PSkeptic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011

    Jan 10, 2011
    905
    97
    78
    IT Project Manager
    Buffalo, NY USA
    Meh, ever seen a 64 bit mobile processor? I haven't. Maybe a generation or two after Honeycomb gets popular.

    But, you can always cross-compile it :)
     
  12. N1nja

    N1nja Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    63
    5
    36
    Hate it
    Hammond, La
    I have it installed and working perfect on my eeepc. I've even gotten around the lack of n official market. My problem now is screen and touch pad orientation, but I hope to work that out tonight, all apps I've tried so far work except Gmail.
     
  13. A.Nonymous

    A.Nonymous Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    7,059
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    7,059
    967
    213
    Yeah Android is a mobile OS first and foremost. I have yet to stumble across a phone that runs more than 4 GB of RAM. If you have a phone running 4 GB of RAM and you really, really, wish you could add RAM to it, let me know.
     
  14. dyeLucky

    dyeLucky Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    46
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    84
    8
    46
    Male
    Senior Systems Technician w/ US Cellular
    in the tech world!
    ummm...silly question...but you guys are running this on virtual machines...right?
     
  15. N1nja

    N1nja Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    63
    5
    36
    Hate it
    Hammond, La
    No, mine is a fully separate OS on on a partition, virtual machines suck.
     

Share This Page

Loading...