1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Can you lock the browser in "desktop mode"?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by PhilipJFry3000, Jan 14, 2012.

  1. PhilipJFry3000

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    31
    4
    16
    As far as I can tell, we lost the ability to set the user string (or whatever it is called) from Android to desktop when we upgraded to ICS.

    Now we have to toggle the "Request desktop site" menu item each time we want to see the desktop version of a website.

    Am I missing something or is there a workaround for this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. PhilipJFry3000

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    31
    4
    16
    I think it was called user agent, not user string. Well, whatever, I am sure you get the idea. Thanks!
     
  3. nstallion

    nstallion Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,152
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    1,152
    136
    143
    San Diego, CA
    Get ICS Browser+ its basically just a slightly tweaked stock ICS browser, including the ability to permanently change the user agent.
     
  4. PhilipJFry3000

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    31
    4
    16
    I didn't realize that browser was available, which is silly, because I use it on my Galaxy Nexus.

    But anyway, thank you. That's exactly what I needed.

    PS. I guess it is called user agent string, so I was sort of right both times.
     

Share This Page

Loading...