1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Can you make your device emulate or appear to be a different device?

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Drolic, Mar 26, 2016.

  1. Drolic

    Drolic Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016

    Mar 26, 2016
    4
    0
    5
    Male
    Is there such a program or app to do this. Or something similar on pc. For example when logging onto a website it would recognize the device as a Samsung instead of a htc. Any spoofs like this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    24,218
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    24,218
    13,306
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Make your phone's browser appear as a PC to a website, so you get the full site instead of a cut-down mobile version? Should be able to do that, in Chrome it's "Request desktop site.", but most browsers have something similar.
     
  3. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,003
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,003
    4,682
    1,108
    Male
    Maybe it's just me, but based on experience, websites really can't detect your phone, or if it did, it wouldn't matter.
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  4. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    24,218
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    24,218
    13,306
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Sure many websites do act on whatever the browser user agent string is

    That's the Chrome user agent string..."R7Plusm" is definitely a phone. :) and the OS is obvious as well.
    Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; Android 5.1.1; R7Plusm Build/LMY47V) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/49.0.2623.91 Mobile Safari/537.36

    And this is what it shows when "Request desktop site." is checked.
    Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/49.0.2623.91 Safari/537.36
    Your IP Address is: China


    Many sites do act that on for the type of page they send to you, e.g. mobile or full desktop.
     
    #4 mikedt, Mar 26, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2016
    ThePhizzle, scary alien and Mikestony like this.
  5. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,292
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,292
    23,466
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Yeah, as far as websites detecting what device you are using, not sure.
    But editing the build.prop can change the way your device appears in the PlayStore at least :p (I remember doing so on my Evo 4g to get Google Wallet to work)
    But you have to be rooted to do so, and messing with the build.prop incorrectly can most certainly bork your phone.
     
  6. Drolic

    Drolic Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016

    Mar 26, 2016
    4
    0
    5
    Male
    Facebook recognizes it. I was trying to make my htc one look like a galaxy tab . Or is there a emulator I could even use on pc?
     
  7. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,003
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,003
    4,682
    1,108
    Male
    I have to ask what difference does it make? Serious question. I fail to see a difference is accessing Facebook via a Samsung or an HTC.
     
  8. Drolic

    Drolic Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016

    Mar 26, 2016
    4
    0
    5
    Male
    Because having some account recovery issues. The Samsung is able to get on with my password because its a recognized device or browser ( I think it doesn't look much further) . I've lost that phone and Phone number since. So just fishing for some ideas
     
  9. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    24,218
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    24,218
    13,306
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    It's likely authenticating with a browser cookie. Use another browser on the Samsung it probably wouldn't be able to login, because that browser wouldn't have the site's cookie, and neither does the HTC of course. You can't just clone it to another device, because that would completely defeat the purpose of having a trusted device as well as two-factor authentication, like logging in with password and an SMS code to the registered phone number.

    If you're actually able to login with the Samsung, you should be able to amend your account security credentials, like phone number, recovery email, or whatever.
     
    #9 mikedt, Mar 28, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2016
  10. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,003
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,003
    4,682
    1,108
    Male
    If that's the case, it's not about the brand. This is device recognition, not brand recognition. Even if you use another actual Samsung device, you'll still get the same login problems. Basically Facebook can tell if you are usibg your old Samsung and a new Samsung. And it will tell you it doesn't recognize the old Samsung. The best way to fix this is to go on a PC and edit the security settings on Facebook to reflect your new number. Then login using your new phone and just answer the security questions.
     
  11. Drolic

    Drolic Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016

    Mar 26, 2016
    4
    0
    5
    Male
    Yeah unfortunately I had enabled login code feature on . So no matter what I need a code from my phone from the code generator to login from any other device. Although I have my actuall Facebook password and email account. Other than that they want me to send a pic I'd and they may look at it in two weeks lol... And are you sure about that? Because I have logged on in the past with a different iPad that I've never used before and it came up as a recognized browser. It was the same gen ect ect. I was hoping I could try emulator my old Samsung ace to see if u got results lol
     
  12. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,003
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,003
    4,682
    1,108
    Male
    I'm more sure of it than your recollection of the iPad thing. I own 3 Samsung devices (Note 2, Galaxy V, and Tab 4). Lucky for you I've never tried logging in to Facebook on my Galaxy V. Tried it just now. It asked for a security code. So yes, even if you manage to make Facebook think you're using a Samsung, you still won't get past the code. I suggest you just do the "submit request to Facebook" procedure.
     

Share This Page

Loading...