1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Can you record your tv off the 3D?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ironcast, Aug 28, 2011.

  1. ironcast

    ironcast Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    Aug 28, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Was just curious if there was a way to record my tv with my evo 3d? If i bought the hdmi cord would that work or is there an app or something else that could do it? Was just curious because I would like to record some videos off my tv dvr and edit them on my pc. I can't just record it via the camera because I don't want any room noise to interfere. If there is not a way oh well, but I'm hoping so and couldn't find an answer anywhere on google either. Thanks for any help.
     

    Advertisement

  2. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #39
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    6,033
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,033
    3,730
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    in short, no. not possible in the stock configuration.
     
  3. jlear3

    jlear3 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011

    Aug 7, 2011
    77
    17
    18
    the HDMI sends out, doesn't recieve... if I'm not mistaken that is.
     
  4. ironcast

    ironcast Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    Aug 28, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    If not stock then anyway to do it if rooted?
     
  5. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #39
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    6,033
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,033
    3,730
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    i do not know the answer to that question. if you want to find out, i would post a question in the rooting forum.
     
  6. falconey

    falconey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    647
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010

    Dec 8, 2010
    647
    410
    123
    Atlanta
    just get a slingbox if you want to watch tv on your phone.
     
  7. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,420
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    HDMI, when the HDCP software is implemented, won't permit copying.

    There are PC-based DVR setups, the closest you can get at the consumer level to HD is a component recording card made by Happauge. You have to get into pro/semi-pro stuff to even contemplate what you're attempting, I believe the last guys making that were Black Dog.

    Recording via composite or S-connector are much more accessible, but even those may be getting hard to find.

    For Macs - http://www.elgato.com/

    PC HD version - http://www.hauppauge.com/site/products/data_hdpvr.html
     
    marctronixx likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...