1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General can you set music that you've uploaded to be a ringtone for texts?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Mast3rguru, Nov 9, 2008.

  1. Mast3rguru

    Mast3rguru Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008

    Nov 9, 2008
    2
    0
    5
    I was able to set music I downloaded as a call ringtone, but for some reason I can't figure out how to set it as a text ringtone, so if anyone knows your help would be much appreciated =)
     

    Advertisement

  2. andonnguyen

    andonnguyen Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008

    Oct 15, 2008
    35
    0
    15
    Menu > Settings > Sound & Display > Notification Ringtone


    This sets the ringtone for when you receive an email, sms, etc.. =]
     
  3. STORM3333

    STORM3333 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008

    Oct 28, 2008
    160
    6
    56
    I AM A CHEF BY TRADE AND NOW RUN A RESTAURANT
    CALIFORNIA
    when i first read this thread i did exactly what you stated here in hopes that i'd have an answer for the poster however it only gives options for tones pre-selected on the device, i don't see where you have the option for music uploaded i'll go back to see if i'm just missing something but i don't see it anywhere.
     
  4. Mast3rguru

    Mast3rguru Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008

    Nov 9, 2008
    2
    0
    5
    yeah i tried it as well and it wouldn't work, maybe theres a way to set downloaded ringtones to that little pre-made list of crappy noises (ringtones) that the phone comes with?
     
  5. jimczyz

    jimczyz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008

    Oct 14, 2008
    129
    4
    36
    Try rings extended or ringdroid from the marketplace, that's what I use and you can use anything from your sd card for a notification ringtone.
     
  6. punkzanyj

    punkzanyj Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,012
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008

    Oct 20, 2008
    1,012
    72
    128
    If you setup folders on your SD Card (in the main part, not as subfolders)
    and name them:

    ringtones

    alarms

    notifications



    You can then drop whatever mp3 you want in those folders and it will be in the list of ringtones, alarms, and notifications the next time you look at ringtone, alarm, or notification list.

    Things to keep in mind:

    - You may have to format the SD Card to get this folder setup to work. Don't ask me why, but it seems that some people have to format the card and then setup these folders before they work correctly.

    - If you're in one of the programs and selecting a new ringtone while you're dropping a ringtone onto the SD Card it will not automatically pop up in that list. You'll have to back button out of that list, wait a sec, and go back in before it appears.

    - The new ringtones, alarms, and notifications may not be visible until you disconnect from the PC. With the updates of RC29 and RC30, this may have changed, but at least before them when the phone and PC are connected the PC "sees" the card but the Phone does not, so any changes made to the card don't show up until the phone and PC are disconnected from each other.

    Hope this helps.
     
  7. natv

    natv Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008

    Nov 6, 2008
    17
    0
    15
    Thanks, adding a 'notifications' folder on the SD Card worked, it now shows up in the list and I can select that sound file.


    Now if only we can make the phone vibrate when it's on silent on an incoming text msg :(


    Nat
     
  8. nofinga911

    nofinga911 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008

    Oct 27, 2008
    18
    0
    15
    I made the folders and the songs did not appear on the list. So I formatted my sd card and re-did the folders but the song still does not appear. Whats wrong?
     
  9. nofinga911

    nofinga911 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008

    Oct 27, 2008
    18
    0
    15
  10. punkzanyj

    punkzanyj Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,012
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008

    Oct 20, 2008
    1,012
    72
    128
    mine does that all the time, be sure you have vibrate checked in your settings.
     
  11. EVO sen

    EVO sen Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008

    Dec 21, 2008
    3
    0
    5
    Awesome, thanks for the help!
     
  12. dskyers

    dskyers Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008

    Dec 8, 2008
    63
    0
    15
    t mobile sales rep & metro pcs
    miami
    one app ringdriod lets you make ringtones notifications everything
     
  13. Rmg12gra

    Rmg12gra Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008

    Nov 22, 2008
    25
    0
    35
    Liverpool, UK
    If you download rings extended then go to change your ringtone or notification tone, you will get an option between android system and rings extended. Click rings extended and you can choose your own sound.
     
  14. wanderlustqueen

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009

    Jan 16, 2009
    2
    0
    5
    I'm unable to access or format the SD card that came in my G1, it shows up as a drive on my computer, but when I try to access it, it prompts me to insert a disc into that drive....
    Thoughts?

    Nevermind...figured it out:
    When you plug in the USB cable you get an alert near the top. Pull down the alert screen and touch USB. It will then give you the option of mounting the SDcard on your computer.
     
  15. unplugged

    unplugged Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009

    Feb 5, 2009
    7
    0
    5
    Wireless Tech
    SoCal
    Mine does fine, but smspopup is nice because it does what it says. It places a popup on the screen notifying you of an incoming text.
     
  16. Marvelous0ne

    Marvelous0ne Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009

    Feb 7, 2009
    5
    0
    5
    Sorry, but I need to know what did you do to get them to show up? I can't figure it out.
     
  17. ElusiveByte

    ElusiveByte Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008

    Dec 21, 2008
    48
    3
    16
    Rings Extended is the way to go.
     
  18. gr33d

    gr33d Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009

    Mar 4, 2009
    1
    0
    5
    Rings Extended is perfect for custom e-mail and SMS ringtones. Now I have Strong Bad audio!!!
     
  19. Jazrawk22

    Jazrawk22 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009

    Apr 6, 2009
    1
    0
    5
    Try using Ringdroid to upload mp3s and edit them and then use Ringo to set those tones for different contacts both for Calls and SMS
     
  20. Mr Bloppy

    Mr Bloppy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009

    Mar 2, 2009
    75
    2
    36
    Hold down the power button untill you get a window with power off and silent mode, select silent mode (you should get a music note with a line through it in the notification bar) then using the volume buttons on the side push the volume up button once. You should see a phone with lines to the side of it in the notification bar.

    or you can install 'useful switchers' and go on ringer volume (or settings) and you should be able to do it from there
     
  21. mtalexan

    mtalexan Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    6
    1
    6
    Correction, the folders must be:
    Ringtones
    Alarms
    Notifications

    Since Android is a version of Linux, capitalization makes a difference.

    Also, check your file type to make sure it's not a proprietary file type, like wma.
     
  22. MaxIsBored

    MaxIsBored Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    May 6, 2010
    21
    0
    15
    Nice! This worked!

    Also, Android is no Linux, its Unix. but case is still sensetive:p.
     
  23. 4ngi3

    4ngi3 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    130
    1
    36
    great tip! thanks!
     
  24. sockrebel

    sockrebel Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    hmm... worked for me without it capitalized. (at least for "ringtones", didn't try the others.)
     
  25. wastedwhiteboy2

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    I'm having a problem with the text notification going back to the default notification after I set a custom sound. It seems to last a day or two and have not figured out when or why it changes back. I deleted the sound put it back on, converted to a .wav from a .mp3 and same problem. After a few days of working fine, it does not recognize the audio sound. Any ideas?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...