1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support can you turn off 3g on evo?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jc123, Sep 23, 2010.

  1. jc123

    jc123 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010

    Sep 19, 2010
    26
    0
    15
    i know you can turn off 4g but is it possible to turn off 3g? i know 3g is everywhere but is it possible to turn off and just use 2g edge or whatever
     

    Advertisement

  2. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,965
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,965
    3,257
    413
    Haven't used the sense widgets in a while, but the "Mobile" toggle will turn on/off 3G. If you turn that off, you'll still see your 6 bars indicator working. That means you're on 2G (1xRTT).
     
  3. JohnJSal

    JohnJSal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #264
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    923
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    923
    67
    78
    Houston, TX
    Yeah, it's called "Mobile Network," which is 3G.
     
  4. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    use the widget or

    menu>settings>wireless and networks>uncheck mobile network

    phone calls and txt still come through. I do this on rare occasion when I know I won't be receiving any emails and not using the web. INSANE battery life back when the phone was stock and not rooted.....but you can't use the web or get emails
     
  5. JohnJSal

    JohnJSal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #264
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    923
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    923
    67
    78
    Houston, TX
    I'm still a little confused about this part. What happens when the the phone tries to check Gmail, for example? Will it just not do it, or will it keep trying (and thus use the battery anyway)?
     
  6. Drew5150

    Drew5150 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    900
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    900
    234
    93
    SF
    It doesn't try when the antennas are shut off. I have also used this and can confirm better battery live when mobile network Is off. Kinda like airplane mode.
     
    JohnJSal likes this.
  7. t0ast3d

    t0ast3d Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    372
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    372
    76
    73
    Student / Dev
    Oklahoma

    It doesn't try to unless you open the app.

    In which it says unable to connect or something like that.
     
    JohnJSal likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...