1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Can you turn Sense UI off?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by KarlosTheJackal, Oct 22, 2010.

  1. KarlosTheJackal

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    Hiya i asked this over at the HTC Desire Z forum's as that's the phone I'm after, but I'm guessing that these two phones are more or less the same (apart from the Camera & Keyboard)

    So Just wondering if anyone knows yet if you can Turn Sense UI Off? I've found a load of topics/videos for turning sense off on the Evo/Desire but not the HD or Z

    Thanks in advance :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. karnka

    karnka Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    800
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    800
    58
    78
    Newcastle, England
    You can just install another launcher and not use all of the widgets. That will remove a lot of the sense-y-ness.

    LauncherPro is very nice (look in the market).
     
  3. KarlosTheJackal

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    I can use another Launcher, But i like the 2.1/2.2 Look & feel hence why i want a way to turn it off.

    Unless there is a launcher with a 2.1/2.2 theme that anyone knows off?
     
  4. karnka

    karnka Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    800
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    800
    58
    78
    Newcastle, England
    LauncherPro and ADW Launcher can be made to look very stock like.
     
  5. KarlosTheJackal

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    I will have a look into them thanks, But back onto topic is there a way to turn Sense UI off?
     
  6. karnka

    karnka Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    800
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    800
    58
    78
    Newcastle, England
    It's not an on/off thing. It's baked into the ROM.
     
  7. Mojo Fones

    Mojo Fones Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009

    I used to have a Hero and you could turn it off on that. In the settings was an 'app' called touchflo and you could switch it off as default, sorry I can't quite remember exactly how but it's probably different on the Desire anyway. I think it still runs in the background for stuff like contacts but the home screen would display the stock Android.
     
  8. KarlosTheJackal

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    So it looks like on older Android Models with HTC Sense on you could but not on the latest one. Darn It!

    Thank you guys for your replys :)
     
  9. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    If the stock launcher is included in your ROM (some sense ROMs include it), then you can switch to it. You can also install it manually, if you want.

    But it won't become 100% stock. You'll still have all the HTC apps and the Sense style notification bar.
     
  10. KarlosTheJackal

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    What do you mean i can install it manually? You mean as a APK file or am i missing something?

    I like the HTC Notification bar so i would be fine with that! As long as i got the 2.1/2.2 style home screen & lock screen i would be happy! :)
     
  11. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    Yeah, if you can find the .apk you should be able to just install it as a normal .apk I believe. You won't be able to remove the HTC Sense launcher unless you root though.

    Look at this article. People did the same thing with the Evo. You can find the .apk you'll need there too :)

    This wouldn't replace the lockscreen though. I don't know if that's possible on a non-rooted handset.
     
  12. KarlosTheJackal

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    Thank you so much for the link & all the information! I think that will be the closest i will get to the Phone running Vanilla/Stock. :)

    Thank you again :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...