1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Cannot click Facebook notifications.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by LJP1983, Mar 28, 2012.

  1. LJP1983

    LJP1983 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012

    Mar 5, 2012
    14
    2
    16
    As of today or yesterday I cannot click the notifications in my Facebook app. I get an Android notification when I receive a message or post or whatever, but when I try and click on it the app doesn't do anything. I can still click to get to pictures, other parts of my account, etc. but the notification tray WITHIN FACEBOOK (again not the Android one) doesn't allow me to click anything.

    For example, if it says "______ also commented on ______'s status update" but when I click that section to see what the reply was, it does absolutely nothing.

    After fiddling around with it for a bit I noticed that I can sort of click around on the separator between the two notifications and it makes a blue line, like a highlight, and that gets me to the reply, but I can't just click it like I normally do. I can even click the picture next to the notification and that works perfectly, but clicking the notification itself is totally broken.


    I've uninstalled and reinstalled three or four times, uninstalled, removed battery, turned on, installed, tried again, nothing is working. It's really frustrating since it seems to have always worked before yesterday and I don't see any information about it anywhere on the net.

    This app sucks at the best of times but if I can't click to get to my posts etc. it's absolutely worthless. I'd really appreciate any info anyone can share.
     

    Advertisement

    Dustin92 and speede541 like this.
  2. DannyJSlone

    DannyJSlone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    256
    42
    43
    It started yesterday for me and so far I as well can only open the notifications by clicking almost on the divider between the different notifications. It sucks.
     
    LJP1983 likes this.
  3. LJP1983

    LJP1983 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012

    Mar 5, 2012
    14
    2
    16

    Okay, hate to sound selfish but I'm glad it's not just me. :p At least it's a reasonably widespread problem and therefore should be fixed sooner than if it were just happening to me. Glad to know this, I thought my phone was crapping out or something.
     
  4. trophynuts

    trophynuts Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    Add another victim to the list. Started for me yesterday as well......Typical Facebook Android app.
     
  5. jonmarkphoto

    jonmarkphoto Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012

    Mar 28, 2012
    2
    1
    6
    I'm having the exact same problem. Started last night for no reason, no update or anything like that. Aggravating, FB app is pretty much useless now.
     
    trophynuts likes this.
  6. timelessfahad

    timelessfahad Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    1
    1
    6
    Same here. It started yesterday. I hope it gets fixed soon.
     
    trophynuts likes this.
  7. rawness

    rawness Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    398
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    398
    21
    58
    This about sums it up, smh
     
    trophynuts likes this.
  8. asianfire

    asianfire Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Yeah, I am selfish. So glad that it isn't me. Thought something waswrong with the phone.
     
  9. edgex

    edgex Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012

    Mar 29, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Happened when I flashed my Skyrocket to ICS yesterday, seems like it's an ICS glitch?

    if i click the top... 10px of the notification very precisely it will click. seems to be a div overlay not resizing right.

    like the space between the gray dividor line, and the top of the display picture.
     
  10. WalmartSecurity

    WalmartSecurity Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    313
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    313
    201
    68
    Are any of you running custom ROMs? I thought it was a Liquid 1.2 problem...
     
  11. DizzyMP

    DizzyMP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    53
    36
    23
    Male
    US Army Recruiter
    Colton, WA
    Facebook posted earlier that it's a problem on their end and they are working on a fix
     
  12. TheyCallMeBT

    TheyCallMeBT Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012

    Feb 29, 2012
    580
    62
    78
    Male
    Yeah, I'm realizing that the problems people are attributing to app updates are often server side. I'm still on 1.8.1. I have the notification deal going, as well as plenty of other issues with it. But I'm wondering if I might as well update, or if some of the problems in the latest update are definitely caused by the software update(s). Anybody know? Current version is 1.8.4.
     
  13. viper689

    viper689 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    852
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012

    Jan 25, 2012
    852
    220
    113
    Male
    Student
    Irvine, CA
    I had the issue also but it seems like it's working for me now. Anyone else?
     
  14. TheyCallMeBT

    TheyCallMeBT Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012

    Feb 29, 2012
    580
    62
    78
    Male
    Yeah, mine is working now.
     
  15. MassacrMan

    MassacrMan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    482
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    482
    53
    53
    Works good for me now, though I did just flash Yakju a few minutes ago. That may have fixed it, not too sure.
     
  16. trophynuts

    trophynuts Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    mine seems to be working as of this morning as well.
     
  17. psycho_maniac

    psycho_maniac Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    93
    18
    38
    Operator at TTM Technologies
    Chippewa Falls, Wi
    wow i had this problem 2 days ago with the same results (ie cant click on them but can click in between them) it finally fixed itself. the thing i like about the nexus is i went into developer mode and turned on "show touches" to make sure it wasnt my phone and that it was infact the facebok app. thank you developer options haha.
     
  18. TheyCallMeBT

    TheyCallMeBT Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012

    Feb 29, 2012
    580
    62
    78
    Male
    Anyone? Is it worth the update to 1.8.4 or is it even screwier (aside from serverside issues)?
     
  19. trophynuts

    trophynuts Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    i've noticed that FB can now slip changes to the UI in without an update market.

    A couple of weeks ago the way in which you like something changed on me and i have my updates set to only download on wifi and i wasn't on a wifi network.

    Then the last few days when we were experiencing the notification problem i noticed they changed the way in which you remove posts that you post.
     
  20. psycho_maniac

    psycho_maniac Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    93
    18
    38
    Operator at TTM Technologies
    Chippewa Falls, Wi
    Yeah I notice this too awhile back. Kinda nice actually except the part where it wasn't working the other day lol
     
  21. macprv

    macprv Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    337
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    337
    47
    43
    Yep, it happened to me too, two days ago, but then it started to work correctly the next day, by itself...

    Don't take this as a fact.. but I think the Facebook as is just a wrapped version of the mobile website... if u go to mobile Facebook you'll see how it looks and works so similar to the android app.... and that's why it starts to have issues by itself and fixes itself
     
  22. psycho_maniac

    psycho_maniac Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    93
    18
    38
    Operator at TTM Technologies
    Chippewa Falls, Wi
    The thing That helped me figure out that it was the app was I turned on "show touches" in the developer settings on the gnex, opened the app and touched where i normally do and it was showing up so it wasn't the phone. I was so worried it was the phone. It was in my back pocket for 4 hours
     
  23. trophynuts

    trophynuts Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    well facebook announced a long time ago that their goal was to actually do away with the mobile app and eventually transition everyone to using the mobile browser FB. That's probably why they look so similar.


    For FB it would make more sense to fully embrace the mobile browser version. That way they maintain it and not have to worry about maintaining apps on different platforms/phones.
     
  24. psycho_maniac

    psycho_maniac Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    93
    18
    38
    Operator at TTM Technologies
    Chippewa Falls, Wi
    I hope you ment app and not the website. this seems really stupid. how would you share something? copy link, load browser, load fb, then paste link? i really dont like this idea.
     
  25. AJ McKay

    AJ McKay Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    246
    99
    53
    Via text. That's how I do it. Also, the mobile site lets you attach pics directly from your gallery.
     
    trophynuts likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...