1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Cannot downgrade Incredible 2 after 1-10-12 OTA?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by guitartist, Jan 11, 2012.

1. guitartist

guitartist Lurker
    None

Jan 11, 2012
    I recently acquired the Incredible 2, and I have been actively researching the procedures for properly rooting this device. I quickly learned that in order to do so, I must downgrade the DINC2 to 2.3.3 from 2.3.4. Unfortunately, this seems to be easier said than done.

When I removed the DINC2 from the box (2 days ago, Jan 9, 2012) I checked the software version and the other relevant data. About an hour after unboxing the device I received an OTA update.

I have read everything I could find on the xda site about downgrading my device, and I have followed the steps exactly. (As a computer technician by trade, this should be easier for me, but alas, I'm not as good with the phones as I should be...)

I am wondering if anyone is having a problem with downgrading after this recent update.

Please feel free to email me at: 7guitar.guy7@gmail if you've got any good advice...

Advertisement

2. TheAtheistReverend

TheAtheistReverend Anybody want a peanut?
    VIP Member
    None

Feb 24, 2010
    EMT
    Minneapolis
  3. ericmtnbkr

ericmtnbkr Member
    None

Jan 3, 2012
    Railcar Design Engineer
    Portland, OR
    I tried downgrading and had problems too. I guess it depends on what you want to accomplish.

I used HTC's boot unlocker and then followed this to get super user and clockworks recovery: [GUIDE] Noob's Guide #6: I just HTC Unlocked, what now? - xda-developers

After that you can flash custom ROM's, and use root required apps like Titanium Backup. For me, that works perfectly. However, you're still not s-off.