1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Cannot Find Locale??

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by longside1, Aug 2, 2009.

  1. longside1

    longside1 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009

    Aug 2, 2009
    7
    0
    5
    Hi guys,

    I've been looking for this app:

    Locale for Android

    The website states that it can be downloaded over at Android Market but I can't find it anywhere.

    Apologies in advance if I'm missing something here, but I've only just received my first Android phone (HTC Hero) and am therefore a bit of a n00b at all this!

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. thehand

    thehand Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    5
    0
    5
    I read somewhere the this aplication slowsdown the phone and causes some bugs... dont know if it
     
  3. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    663
    Posts:
    10,543
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008

    Nov 3, 2008
    10,543
    210
    663
    Washington DC, USA
    There are many apps that have "Locale" as part of their name ... Take a look at these to see which one you want ... >>> Cyrket - Search: 'locale'
     
  4. ankhwk2008

    ankhwk2008 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I also have been unsuccessful in locating Locale in the Android Market. I did read on the Support on their site that you had to have Android 1.5 or above in order for you to be able to view it in the market. I don't see on my phone that I just received yesterday where I can check the version and I also checked to see if there were any updates and there were none.

    Hopefully this trips some triggers for someone else to come up with some ideas.
     
  5. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,551
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,551
    16,993
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    In Market, try using Search for "pname:edu.mit.locale". It's definitely there.
     
  6. ankhwk2008

    ankhwk2008 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I found the solution. I called T-Mobile last night and the told me that I had to wait about 48 hrs after recieving my new G1 before their system would push the Cupcake update allowing you to find Locale in the Market. It is not compatible with version 1.0-1.4, therefore you will not be able to find it.

    Hope this helps!
     
  7. ankhwk2008

    ankhwk2008 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I forgot to mention that if you don't get the update you can call T-mobile and they will send a request to push the update to your phone. Just dial 611.
     
  8. punkzanyj

    punkzanyj Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,012
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008

    Oct 20, 2008
    1,012
    72
    128
     

Share This Page

Loading...