1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Cannot find RUU STOCK ROM HTC One M8

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by George Flynn, Sep 10, 2016.

  1. George Flynn

    George Flynn Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016

    Sep 10, 2016
    14
    1
    26
    Male
    Hi Guys,

    I have an HTC ONE M8 that I tried to root. Basically am stuck on the HTC boot screen. I have tried removing the SD card and the sim and rebooting - no luck. I have done some searching and it looks like I need to restore the stock RUU. I have Radio number 1.29.214500021.12G. There is one link that looks like it has the file https://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=24369303960687057 but I cant open it for love or money. I saw something similar discussed on this thread: http://androidforums.com/threads/help-with-bricked-m8.878210/. I am based in Europe and cant see that HTC offers the file downloads as it does in US. I also have a couple of question does the RUU have to math the radio / region exactly? also is an alternative to find a twrp back up and load this? if so does the twrp backup have to be as specific and where might i find one? At the moment I am Can either get the fastboot screen up or turn the

    (bootloader) version: 0.5
    (bootloader) version-bootloader: 3.19.0.0000
    (bootloader) version-baseband: 1.29.214500021.12G
    (bootloader) version-main: 6.12.166.4
     

    Advertisement

  2. James L

    James L Android Expert
    Rank:
     #83
    Points:
    293
    Posts:
    1,313
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014

    Dec 29, 2014
    1,313
    655
    293
    Male
    Owner root-android-easy.com
    Peoria Il
    Is it a branded device or unlocked and unbranded? If it's branded who is the carrier?
    Since you can get into fastboot run fastboot getvar all. Then post the output minus your IMEI.

    Also post information such as what custom recovery you used and the version of the recovery. Or if you used a toolkit etc. If a RUU is not available root should still be a possibility and that would allow you to flash a custom OS or at least have a bootable device.
    If the device is S off this would be easy, if it's S on and unlocked it shouldn't be that hard either.
     
  3. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #27
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,344
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,344
    8,585
    1,053
    Drafter
    Can you boot into the bootloader again and connect via USB and run the command: fastboot getvar all

    Then copy/paste the results here? It may help in locating an RUU.
     
    James L likes this.
  4. George Flynn

    George Flynn Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016

    Sep 10, 2016
    14
    1
    26
    Male
    Thanks Guys.

    James: The Carrier is swisscom. I was using TWRP...HOWEVER.. I did not make the recovery image using the back up feature, instead used HTC SYNC ( noob mistake).

    Brian: output is below.

    I have downloaded a copy of Viper One as I was thinking that maybe a custom OS would offer a way out. However if I take the SD card put of the phone and into the pc transfer the file and then look for the file in TWRP under Install the file is not there - the SD card when put back in the pc is exactly the same as it was before the file transfer. I don't know if its an SD problem or its something to do with the state the phone is in. I tried sideloading the file using adb push and no joy. full read out of my efforts below. I do not see the htc one on my pc to allow "normal" transfer to the download. When I rund ADB devices it shows nun and yet I can run fastboot. My initial and first reaction was to restore factory settings - bit concerned I might have to unrooted/made custom OS or RUU instalation impossible?

    Thanks for your help!

    C:\Users\PC1>adb devices
    List of devices attached
    adb server is out of date. killing...
    * daemon started successfully *


    C:\Users\PC1> cd C:\Users\PC1\.android

    C:\Users\PC1\.android>adb devices
    List of devices attached


    C:\Users\PC1\.android> adb push ViperOneM8_6.1.0.zip /sdcard/.
    error: device '(null)' not found

    C:\Users\PC1\.android>fastboot getvar all
    (bootloader) version: 0.5
    (bootloader) version-bootloader: 3.19.0.0000
    (bootloader) version-baseband: 1.29.214500021.12G
    (bootloader) version-cpld: None
    (bootloader) version-microp: None
    (bootloader) version-main: 6.12.166.4
    (bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON
    (bootloader) serialno: HT43NWM10295


    (bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
    (bootloader) product: m8_ul
    (bootloader) platform: hTCBmsm8974
    (bootloader) modelid: 0P6B10000
    (bootloader) cidnum: VODAP110
    (bootloader) battery-status: good
    (bootloader) battery-voltage: 0mV
    (bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
    (bootloader) security: on
    (bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
    (bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
    (bootloader) commitno-bootloader: 76df2b54
    (bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 11
    (bootloader) gencheckpt: 0
    all: Done!
    finished. total time: 0.120s

    C:\Users\PC1\.android>adb push ViperOneM8_6.1.0.zip /sdcard/
    adb server is out of date. killing...
    * daemon started successfully *
    error: device '(null)' not found
     
  5. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #27
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,344
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,344
    8,585
    1,053
    Drafter
  6. George Flynn

    George Flynn Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016

    Sep 10, 2016
    14
    1
    26
    Male
  7. James L

    James L Android Expert
    Rank:
     #83
    Points:
    293
    Posts:
    1,313
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014

    Dec 29, 2014
    1,313
    655
    293
    Male
    Owner root-android-easy.com
    Peoria Il
    The file you linked here https://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=24369303960687057 is not a exe file.
    You would download the file and Go into fastboot
    type
    fastboot oem rebootRUU
    fastboot flash zip then drag the file into cmd and press enter. If it works it'll display a ton of text then tell you to reflash it again.
     
  8. James L

    James L Android Expert
    Rank:
     #83
    Points:
    293
    Posts:
    1,313
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014

    Dec 29, 2014
    1,313
    655
    293
    Male
    Owner root-android-easy.com
    Peoria Il
    When you are trying to sideload or adb push have you looked at the device manager on the PC to see if the device shows?
     
  9. George Flynn

    George Flynn Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016

    Sep 10, 2016
    14
    1
    26
    Male
    Hi James - gave cmd ago - got the below error, i cannot see the phone in the control panel or device manager. I have seen it there but dont remember the exact circumstances that gave rise to it appearing.

    C:\Users\PC1\.android> fastboot oem rebootRUU
    < waiting for device >
    ...
    (bootloader) Start Verify: 3
    OKAY [ 0.044s]
    finished. total time: 0.046s

    C:\Users\PC1\.android>fastboot flash zip C:\Users\PC1\Downloads\0P6BIMG_M8_UL_M60_SENSE70_MR_HTC_Europe_6.12.401.4_Radio_1.29.214500021.12G_20.72.4196t.01_release_464360_signed.zip
    target reported max download size of 1826418688 bytes
    error: cannot load
    'C:\Users\PC1\Downloads\0P6BIMG_M8_UL_M60_SENSE70_MR_HTC_Europe_6.12.401.4_Radio_1.29.214500021.12G_20.72.4196t.01_release_464360_signed.zip'
     
  10. George Flynn

    George Flynn Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016

    Sep 10, 2016
    14
    1
    26
    Male
    Sorry, just looked at the device manager - was looking for HTC when should have been looking for Android USB devices : Thanks for help bear with me as have severe case of noob-itits. dm.png
     
  11. James L

    James L Android Expert
    Rank:
     #83
    Points:
    293
    Posts:
    1,313
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014

    Dec 29, 2014
    1,313
    655
    293
    Male
    Owner root-android-easy.com
    Peoria Il
    You will need to remove your fastboot file and use HTC fastboot file. Let me see if i can find it. Uploaded the adb and HTC-fastboot file from my PC. Oh and your bootloader has to be relocked.
     

    Attached Files:

    #11 James L, Sep 11, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2016
  12. James L

    James L Android Expert
    Rank:
     #83
    Points:
    293
    Posts:
    1,313
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014

    Dec 29, 2014
    1,313
    655
    293
    Male
    Owner root-android-easy.com
    Peoria Il
    Are you using a desktop or laptop?
     
  13. George Flynn

    George Flynn Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016

    Sep 10, 2016
    14
    1
    26
    Male
  14. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #27
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,344
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,344
    8,585
    1,053
    Drafter
    I believe error 155 is caused by an unlocked bootloader. I think you need to relock before you can run the RUU.

    fastboot oem lock

    Also, leave the device in fastboot mode while running the RUU.

    If James is having you try some other things, you may want to try them while the bootloader is still unlocked.
     
    #14 Brian706, Sep 11, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2016
    James L likes this.
  15. George Flynn

    George Flynn Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016

    Sep 10, 2016
    14
    1
    26
    Male
    I used cmd "fastboot lock oem" with the HTC fastboot . got the below erros so restored the old flashboot

    C:\Users\PC1\.android>fastboot oem lock
    ... (bootloader) [PGFS] partition_update_pgfs: pg1fs_security
    (bootloader) TZ_HTC_SVC_ENC ret = 0
    (bootloader) [PGFS] partition_update_pgfs: pg2fs_sec_recovery
    (bootloader) Lock successfully...
    (bootloader) deinit_lcd
    (bootloader) mipi display off
    (bootloader) mdp_clock_off
    (bootloader) turn off fd8c2308 failed 1 times. Try again...
    (bootloader) disable_mmss_clk done
    (bootloader) pll1_disable done
    (bootloader) TZ_HTC_SVC_DISABLE ret = -1610744452 (0x9FFDFD7C)
    (bootloader) [CRITICAL] SPMI write command failure: cmd_id = 0, error
    (bootloader) = 4
    (bootloader) [CRITICAL] SPMI write command failure: cmd_id = 0, error
    (bootloader) = 4
    (bootloader) [ERR] Cannot halt SPMI arbiter!!
    (bootloader) [INFO] Rebooting device
    FAILED (status read failed (Too many links))
    Execution time is 1(s)
     
  16. George Flynn

    George Flynn Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016

    Sep 10, 2016
    14
    1
    26
    Male
    Thanks Brian - have locked the bootloader so will try again with your file. James Brian have found the below link on theadb not seeing devices - is this something I should fix or let lie? http://visualgdb.com/adbfix/#adbfix_download
     
  17. George Flynn

    George Flynn Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016

    Sep 10, 2016
    14
    1
    26
    Male
    Brian - re ran the RUU. Got another error - sorry! I am guessing its a US/Europe thing. err2.png
     
  18. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #27
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,344
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,344
    8,585
    1,053
    Drafter
    To me that sounds like it's the wrong RUU, and doesn't match the device modelid shown in your getvar all you provided earlier. Which RUU gave you that error? The one from HTC?
     
  19. George Flynn

    George Flynn Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016

    Sep 10, 2016
    14
    1
    26
    Male
    Hi Brian - thanks for coming back - it was the htc download.
     
  20. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #27
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,344
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,344
    8,585
    1,053
    Drafter
    Do me a favor and take the RUU zip you downloaded that you linked to in the OP and rename it to: 0P6BIMG.zip

    Then place it on the root of the sd card (not in any folders) and reboot the phone into the bootloader and see if something happens.
     
  21. gustavo Woltmann

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016

    Sep 11, 2016
    2
    0
    5
    Male
    You can also backup a friends M8 stock ROM, then load on your phone.
     
  22. George Flynn

    George Flynn Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016

    Sep 10, 2016
    14
    1
    26
    Male
    Hi Brian - I will give that a go - the issue is the SD card is not updating. I can format using a tool on the web so that it accepts changes - but it will wipe the existing contents - before I do this I just want to check If I wipe the SD card will it matter as long as the zip is on there? Hi Gustavo - unfortunately I am the only one with an M8.
     
  23. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #27
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,344
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,344
    8,585
    1,053
    Drafter
    You could always backup the contents of your sd to a PC, then restore it after a wipe. I don't know if that method I mentioned in the last post will work, but it's worth a shot. I'm curious either way.

    Bringing me back to my evo 3d days a bit.
     
  24. George Flynn

    George Flynn Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016

    Sep 10, 2016
    14
    1
    26
    Male
    Brian will give that a go this evening . James do you have any other ideas? Thanks Guys, George
     
  25. James L

    James L Android Expert
    Rank:
     #83
    Points:
    293
    Posts:
    1,313
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014

    Dec 29, 2014
    1,313
    655
    293
    Male
    Owner root-android-easy.com
    Peoria Il
    You could RE unlock the bootloader and then flash twrp. Then flash a custom rom. Since you have S on you would have to open, not extract the zip then flash the boot.img in fastboot after or before the rom flash in twrp.

    Sideload is how i do it, you would need the device to be detected by adb while in twrp though. Since your using a desktop use a USB port in the back of the PC. If it's still not detected try a different USB cable.
     

Share This Page

Loading...