1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Cannot flash ROM

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by amazinz5, Jan 4, 2012.

  1. amazinz5

    amazinz5 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    103
    18
    38
    I successfully rooted using R3L3As3Droot and 43V3R Root but I cannot flash a rom using cwm. When i select the rom file from my sd card it just reboots. I'm on 5.5.886. Is there a way to just boot into recovery and flash from there?
     

    Advertisement

  2. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,024
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,024
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL

    Yes. You can't flash Roms from rom manager on the bionic. Use bootstrap or rom manager to boot into recovery. Then select install file from sd. Select install file from sd again and find your rom. Make sure you saved the rom on the external sd. Also follow the developers instructions on wiping before you flash.
     
  3. amazinz5

    amazinz5 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    103
    18
    38
    Thanks, I'm making progress. KIN3TX is now installing. I don't remember if i did a nandroid....should i immediately go back to stock and do a backup?
     
  4. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,024
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,024
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL

    You don't have to. We have the fxz files to flash if my thing goes wrong . They will put your phone back to bone stock. Just like it came out of the box.
     
  5. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,024
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,024
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL

    I would make a back up of kint3xs base after you set it up. This way if you flash one of the add on's and you don't like it you can restore the back up and try a different tpax.
     
  6. Beehemel

    Beehemel Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    17
    0
    15

    I'm unable to boot into recovery. I installed clockwork through ROM Manager, but when I select "Boot into recovery" the phone just reboots.
     
  7. amazinz5

    amazinz5 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    103
    18
    38
  8. Beehemel

    Beehemel Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    17
    0
    15

    I got bootstrap installed, but when I boot into recovery, not all of the directories/files show up on the sd card. I have copied the zip file (for Liberty) to three different locations : "\mnt\sdcard\downloads", "\mnt\sdcard\", and "\mnt\sdcard\DCIM" since it shows up in the CWM, but the zip file does not show in CWM

    EDIT: of course after I post this, I find "\mnt\sdcard-ext"...nevermind
     
  9. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,024
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,024
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    Glad you figured it out.
     

Share This Page

Loading...