1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Cannot Go into recovery mode (Huawei Ascend)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jaimef131, Jul 18, 2011.

  1. jaimef131

    jaimef131 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    28
    0
    35
    Hello everyone,

    I have been a member of this forum for quite a bit now and it has really helped me learning about rooting and customizing my huawei ascend. However, not so long ago i tried to boot into recovery mode by pressing "send+vol up+power" buttons and and it only stays in the huawei screen. I waited for about 30 minutes and nothing happen, it would still be on the huawei ascend screen. Am I doing wrong?

    EDIT:

    I have also downloaded ROM Manager, and when i try to reboot into recovery from there the same thing happens.
     

    Advertisement

  2. kevinrubio

    kevinrubio Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,029
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    1,029
    111
    143
    Student
    Atlanta, GA
    have you even installed CWM? in that mode your in, it means that you have to connect you phone to pc and then do the process. if you did install cwm already then, not sure. your CWM might be corrupted in my case.
     
  3. jaimef131

    jaimef131 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    28
    0
    35
    Yes I have installed CWM (from ROM Manager, not by flashing) It says "Latest Recovery ClockworkMod 3.0.0.5"

    I have tried it both ways and still I haven't been able to do it. I also tried to install a new ROM and the same thing happens all over again. Where can i go from where I am? I forgot to mention my device was updated to 2.2 Froyo and since then my computer hasnt been able to access the phone files, just my sd card =/
     
  4. kevinrubio

    kevinrubio Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,029
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    1,029
    111
    143
    Student
    Atlanta, GA
    it says it but its really not.. 3.0.2.4 is what i have, the link is there
     
  5. jaimef131

    jaimef131 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    28
    0
    35
    Thank you, should I save that file into my SD card since i cannot flash into my phone? I tried downloading it directly from my phone but when i tried to open it i got a message saying that the file is not supported by my device (idk if it has to do with anything but USB debugging is turned on)
     
  6. kevinrubio

    kevinrubio Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,029
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    1,029
    111
    143
    Student
    Atlanta, GA
    no lol this does not go into your phone or sd card. when you open it in your pc, you follow these directions:
    make sure usb debugging is turned on (menu button, settings, applications, development, usb debugging)

    boot your phone into debug mode (fastboot) press, in order, VOLUME ROCKER DOWN+END (HANG UP)+ POWER. your phone will stay at the huawei screen. attach to pc using usb cord.

    open the cwm.zip and extract the files
    open the cwm folder
    open the following files (you may see the dos box open briefly, this shows it worked all file are labeled according to os, choose for your os (windows, linux, ect.)

    adb
    fastboot
    install recovery

    unplug your phone from the pc and remove the battery for ten seconds.

    boot to cwm VOLUME ROCKER UP+CALL BUTTON+POWER
     
  7. jaimef131

    jaimef131 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    28
    0
    35
    LOL! Ok i will try that, haha i feel such a noob :)
     
  8. kevinrubio

    kevinrubio Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,029
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    1,029
    111
    143
    Student
    Atlanta, GA
    dont worry lol ;) hope it works
     
  9. jaimef131

    jaimef131 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    28
    0
    35
    ADB and fasboot went fine, i saw briefly a window that would close rapidly, but when i double clicked on the install-recovery it stays on the black screen saying "waiting for device" :(
     
  10. kevinrubio

    kevinrubio Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,029
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    1,029
    111
    143
    Student
    Atlanta, GA
    yes thats suppose to happen and did you plug in your ascend in that mode? is there something wrong with your usb?
     
  11. jaimef131

    jaimef131 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    28
    0
    35
    I did plug in my ascend and nothing happened :( tried different ports as well and nothing, i don't know what's wrong with my device :thinking:
     
  12. kevinrubio

    kevinrubio Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,029
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    1,029
    111
    143
    Student
    Atlanta, GA
    did you turn on usb debugging?
     
  13. MommysDroid

    MommysDroid Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011

    Mar 22, 2011
    54
    4
    36
    Stay at home mom.
    New Jersey
    Hi I was very recently in the same situation. I was told that after installing cwm via rom manager it maybe necessary to perform the process a 2nd time to get the actual flash. (Click first time to install cwm then click it again to flash it) I did that and I also dled another 3.0.0.5 cwm image from the cm7 wiki but I don't know if that part did anything to help since I didn't flash it I just dled it because I was going to try a manual reflash. Before I resorted to a reflash I tried booting into recovery again and it worked. I can boot into recovery manually and thru rom manager. You can try that and see if it helps. Good luck :)
     
  14. jaimef131

    jaimef131 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    28
    0
    35
    Wait, you mean try it twice from the phone?
     
  15. jaimef131

    jaimef131 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    28
    0
    35
    Yes i did :(

    Wait, you mean try it twice from the phone and not manually with a computer?
     
  16. jaimef131

    jaimef131 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    28
    0
    35
    UPDATE:

    After many tries I have not been able to do it, so I tried to flash my phone back to stock. I followed these directions and after double clicking on metroPCSStock-windows.bat file i get the black screen saying "waiting for device" and my phone never reboots. Does it have anything to do that my computer cannot read my phone? Everytime I connect it to my computer I get the same pop up (images from both situations attached).

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

     
  17. jaimef131

    jaimef131 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    28
    0
    35
    UPDATE:

    I got it to work!!
    (apparently). What I did this time was:

    I opened ROM Manager

    Selected "Go into Recovery Mode". It would reboot and stay only in the Huawei screen.

    Then connected my phone to the computer

    This time it appeared that my pc recognized my phone

    Opened "Adb", then "Fastboot", and finally "install recovery"

    Then booted into cwm by pressing VOLUME ROCKER UP+CALL BUTTON+POWER

    At the moment i am backing up all my data since I want to set my phone back to stock factory, and from there install CM7.

    Am I doing good so far? Thank you for your support
     
  18. kevinrubio

    kevinrubio Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,029
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    1,029
    111
    143
    Student
    Atlanta, GA
    thats what your suppose to do at that screen lmao ;) and your cwm working now?
     
  19. jaimef131

    jaimef131 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    28
    0
    35
    My CWM worked =)

    Lol I couldn't seem to get it right then :p I have just reseted my phone, all my apps are gone tho, even the ones I saved on my sd card :( (I have all my sd card data in a folder on my computer as well as the back up i did in CWM)
     
  20. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    next time get titu from market free version and you can do a batch backup, and restore your apps when ever you flash another rom.;)
     
    jaimef131 likes this.
  21. jaimef131

    jaimef131 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    28
    0
    35
    thank you nuttmeg, although i would like to know, is there another way for me to get them back?
     
  22. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    https://market.android.com/ and click on My Market Account, and if you had your phone backup to google it will sync your apps also.
     
  23. jaimef131

    jaimef131 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    28
    0
    35
    Sweet I'll try that! :)

    I am trying to root my phone again. Last time I downloaded gingerbreak 1.2 from 4shared (since i had the update 2.2 froyo) and now I am trying to the same and when I try to open the apk file it says "There is a problem parsing the package". The option for non-market apps is checked under my setting so is USB debugging (although the former might not be related)

    I tried with astro file manager as well and I can't get it to work. Is it my phone or im just a noob? :(
     
  24. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    might been a bad .apk file you downloaded, try this one http://dl.dropbox.com/u/31550100/download/GgerBrak-v1.20.apk
     
  25. jaimef131

    jaimef131 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    28
    0
    35

Share This Page

Loading...