1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Cannot install OTA update to software T769UVLF4

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jaypsss, Jul 30, 2012.

  1. jaypsss

    jaypsss Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011

    Jun 16, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    For the past few days my phone has been trying to update..
    Is it because my phone is rooted?
    Can I temporarily unroot so I can update the software?

    Thanks in advance!
     

    Advertisement

  2. abrahamramirez

    abrahamramirez Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011

    Nov 1, 2011
    143
    8
    36
    Yep, updates dont work if rooted. You have to odin back to stock to update
     
  3. heyhenrik

    heyhenrik Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    9
    2
    6
    Forgive my ignorance... I'm new to rooting.

    I have the same issue.
    The T-Mobile minor OTA update is nagging me every few hours (even though I keep postponing it 1 day!).

    I rooted via the method on this forum, but I'm still using the stock ROM, etc.

    My question is this:
    Can I unroot temporarily to get this stupid OTA update without having to start all over with this phone?
     
  4. heyhenrik

    heyhenrik Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    9
    2
    6
    Does anyone have an answer for me?

    Thanks, ahead of time. :)
     
  5. heyhenrik

    heyhenrik Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    9
    2
    6
    *BUMP*
     
  6. heyhenrik

    heyhenrik Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    9
    2
    6

    Anyone want to know how awesome it us to be nagged several times a day for a month?
     
  7. shirleys143

    shirleys143 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012

    Aug 7, 2012
    3
    1
    6
    I have not tried this on my Blaze as I am waiting to see if the mythical ICS will arrive before doing everything at once. There is a back to stock for softbrick through Odin that will remove root. Update via Kries. Then reroot. All three steps are on the forum individually and should work. Let us know how it goes.
     
    heyhenrik likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...