1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root cannot install SWYPE on BB 4, says no room

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by drumtrucker, Jul 3, 2010.

  1. drumtrucker

    drumtrucker Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    169
    3
    36
    truck driver
    in my big-truck
    was able to install on another Froyo rom, no I don't remember which. How much room does SWYPE need?

    editing this in (from post below) to get it read by more eyes:

    I did uninstall a bunch of fluff I was thinking of getting rid of anyway. Using 3 different methods of checking, here are results:

    os monitor 231 used 48 free, not sure why this is being reported so low, but could be a clue
    in misc section of os monitor:

    \system
    total: 143
    used:117
    avail: 26
    \data
    total: 265
    used:123
    avail:145

    memory widget
    120 out of 261 used settings

    sd/phone internal phone storage internal space
    142 (which matches mem widget)
     

    Advertisement

  2. Thrawn

    Thrawn Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    63
    0
    15
    Check the free space in your internal memory. Settings -> SD card & phone storage -> Internal phone storage
     
  3. drumtrucker

    drumtrucker Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    169
    3
    36
    truck driver
    in my big-truck
    no kidding... not an answer to the question i asked. jeez
     
  4. Thrawn

    Thrawn Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    63
    0
    15
    Well is it low? You could try moving some apps to your SD and see if it helps.
     
  5. drumtrucker

    drumtrucker Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    169
    3
    36
    truck driver
    in my big-truck
    I did uninstall a bunch of fluff I was thinking of getting rid of anyway. Using 3 different methods of checking, here are results:

    os monitor 231 used 48 free, not sure why this is being reported so low, but could be a clue
    in misc section of os monitor:

    \system
    total: 143
    used:117
    avail: 26
    \data
    total: 265
    used:123
    avail:145

    memory widget
    120 out of 261 used settings

    sd/phone internal phone storage internal space
    142 (which matches mem widget)
     
  6. drumtrucker

    drumtrucker Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    169
    3
    36
    truck driver
    in my big-truck
    how do i move apps to SD card? I did format it for that, but have not seen where/how to do that yet.
     
  7. shrink57

    shrink57 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,529
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    1,529
    149
    143
    South Florida
    Try using root explorer to delete every incidence of swype on your system (need to set system to read/write r/w and do a search for "swype"). There might me remnants of swype left on your phone. Then do a reinstall. I had the same problem with other large apps when trying to do a Titanium restore and couldn't even do a market install. After a search and delete I was able to install them again. You can also check out this link (I used root explorer instaead on Android Mate):
    http://alldroid.org/tabid/62/g/posts/m/4135/NEW-official-swype-beta-release-WORKING-on-FROYO.aspx
     
  8. drumtrucker

    drumtrucker Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    169
    3
    36
    truck driver
    in my big-truck
    search found nothing...
    I have flashed chevyno1 simplystunning and now OS monitor shows 99% used
    but Root explorer says 260 free
     
  9. drumtrucker

    drumtrucker Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    169
    3
    36
    truck driver
    in my big-truck
    this may or may not be relevant to this no room issue, but every time I boot (in last 2 or 3 roms) I get a notification of 416 unread messages, even thought I keep telling handcent to mark all read.
     
  10. digdug1

    digdug1 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #152
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,965
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    1,965
    309
    163
    you should move your apps to the memory card. on bb you go into the bb tools then script helper then apps2sd
     
  11. PerCompLLC

    PerCompLLC Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    521
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    521
    128
    93
    Web Application Programmer
    Northern Virginia
    You could do that, but you shouldn't need to...
     

Share This Page

Loading...