1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root cannot root wildfire tried 3 methods now

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by pinkellie666, Apr 28, 2012.

  1. pinkellie666

    pinkellie666 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012

    Apr 28, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    hi, im having a nightmare trying to root my htc wildfire so i can install a custom ROM. Its internal memory is so low that unless i can get this to work its going in the bin as it can barely handle its own basic functions and nothing can update. had to delete most of my apps and its still useless :(

    tried using unrevoked, all worked until i came to reflash it, but unrevoked wouldnt recognise it at all.

    so tried an alternative method using the steps on the HTC dev website to unlock the bootloader, which updated successfully and all worked up until i had to send them the identifier token to unlock it, the website just kept saying the token was the wrong length whatever parts of the code i included or didnt include.

    so tried going back to unrevoked which now recognised the phone and tells me "device "marvel" unsupported at this time, first time i have heard it referred to a "marvel" its not marketed as that in uk

    so tried revolutionary but my device isnt in the list thats supported.

    the kernel is 2.6.35.10

    stuck now! help please?
     

    Advertisement

  2. CafeKampuchia

    CafeKampuchia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,543
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    2,543
    2,787
    333
    Male
    Pursat, Cambodia
  3. nigsy

    nigsy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    474
    158
    88
    Oracle Consultant
    Devon
  4. pinkellie666

    pinkellie666 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012

    Apr 28, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    grrrrrraargh! yes youre right there are spaces in it. got rid of them and now htcs website is broken and get a 404 message when i try to submit the code :( will try again later
     
  5. pinkellie666

    pinkellie666 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012

    Apr 28, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Its still not accepting my code. tried several times carefull but it still says wrong length...any ideas?
     
  6. Caro332

    Caro332 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    912
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    912
    238
    93
    Maybe you are putting an extra portion you're not supposed to
     
  7. sisu

    sisu Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011

    this could be a possible alternative option for you: To unlock your phone, use simonsimons34's wildfire s tool. But you can only use the unlocking option on the tool, since you have gsm. the other options are for cdma only.
    [UTILITY] Simon's Wildfires Utility v2 - xda-developers

    Once unlocked, you can find tools to root. or just flash rom recovery boot and then install a custom rom (which includes root)
     

Share This Page

Loading...