1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Cannot transfer files from computer to Huawei P9 Lite by means of Windows Explorer

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Mapleleiah, Jun 26, 2016.

  1. Mapleleiah

    Mapleleiah Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Hi,

    I just bought a Huawei P9 Lite and equipped it with an extra sd card. I would like to be able to transfer files (such as music) to the card on this phone by means of Windows Explorer and the USB cable. I have always done this with previous phones.

    However, it doesn't seem to work with the Huawei P9 Lite. I connected the phone, installed the HiSuite as requested and after several attempts, the HiSuite can connect to the phone, but in Windows Explorer I only see the name of the phone. When I click it, nothing happens: I don't see the contents of the phone, no difference between internal memory and sdcard and when I try to copy something to this device (hoping it would end up "somewhere" on the phone), I get an error that files can't be copied.

    The HiSuite is pretty much useless when it comes to copying files. I also tried clicking on the internal memory or sd card from this program, but I get sent to the same Explorer Window with no contents of the phone to be seen.

    What is missing?

    I am using Windows 10 64bit. Below is a screenshot of what I see in Explorer when connecting the phone.

    Thanks for any advice!

    Lenny

    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement

  2. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,818
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,818
    35,114
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    I looked up the P9 Lite and it said that it ships with Android 6.0 (Marshmallow). In 6.0 the default action when plugged it became 'charge only'. What you must to every time is plug in your phone, then pull down the notification bar and select USB Options. Then you set it to MTP mode and you should see your files.
     
  3. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,131
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,131
    4,803
    1,108
    Male
    That's weird for Huawei if they ask for that on every connection. My phone shipped with Marshmallow and doesn't ask every time. Never did actually. But I understand some models do ship set to charge only.
     
  4. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,818
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,818
    35,114
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    I thought that was part of MM in general. @chanchan05 did it ask the first time?
     
  5. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,131
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,131
    4,803
    1,108
    Male
    Not that I remember. I factory reset last week after the June update (was pretty big for my S7E, about 300mb), and I don't remember the phone asking.
     
  6. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,818
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,818
    35,114
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Well, Samsung does like to do things differently sometimes ... wait, didn't they copy that from Apple? ;)
     
  7. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,131
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,131
    4,803
    1,108
    Male
    I'm pretty sure you can't even use Apple as an MTP device. Lol.
     
  8. Dannydet

    Dannydet Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,391
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016

    Jan 16, 2016
    3,391
    1,714
    818
    Male
    Graphics Manager / Sales
    USA
    Have you tried using a file explorer on the phone, connect wirelessly by LAN, find your files on the PC, then copy them to the phone? There are many on the play store to try...
     
  9. Lenny De Vos

    Lenny De Vos Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016

    Jun 29, 2016
    1
    2
    6
    Female
    Belgium
    Hi,

    The solution Lunatic59 offered works! Thank you! It's that simple ... I can't believe I didn't notice it when trying it ...

    So thanks again!

    Lenny / Mapleleiah
     
    Slug and lunatic59 like this.
  10. Trynity

    Trynity Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2016

    Oct 5, 2016
    1
    1
    16
    Female
    So helpful! Thanks :)
     
    Dannydet likes this.
  11. the saxman uk

    the saxman uk Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2016

    Oct 19, 2016
    1
    1
    16
    lunertic59..thank you so much.. I spent hours trying to configure my phone. I hadn't noticed the notification choices because of course they are hidden if you dont know they are there.. Selecting one of the choices reveals all your files on the sdstorage and the internal storage that couldn't be seen previously..:)
     
    lunatic59 likes this.
  12. Trickster123

    Trickster123 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2017

    Apr 12, 2017
    1
    1
    6
    Thanks so much Lunatic59, I was having the same problem as above, but you've solved it!
     
    lunatic59 likes this.
  13. babsiep

    babsiep Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017

    Jun 22, 2017
    2
    0
    15
    Female
    Cape Town
    I do not have USB options in the notifications bar.

    I couldn't even connect via HiSuite, until I forced developer mode and switching on USB debugging, but I still don't see the files in Windows Explorer.

    And HiSuite does not have an option for music.

    Any advice?
     
  14. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,818
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,818
    35,114
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    You might try a different USB cable. Some cables are charge-only and don't have the connections for data transfer.
     
    Dannydet likes this.
  15. babsiep

    babsiep Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017

    Jun 22, 2017
    2
    0
    15
    Female
    Cape Town
    I had high hopes after your post! Then I tried my USB cables with a S4 Mini - they all transfer data too.

    Is there a reason why I don't have USB options in the notifications bar?
     
  16. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,818
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,818
    35,114
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    I can only think of two reasons off the top of my head. The first is that you have a custom rom which has changed the default behavior. I am going to guess you have stock everything, correct?

    The only other option is that the charging port on the phone is damaged and not making the proper data connection. A good way to test would be to turn on USB debugging and see if the phone is recognized by the PC. If not, and the cable is good, then it would have to be the port.
     

Share This Page

Loading...