1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Cannot view videos I've taken on my camera

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Member2047631, Mar 11, 2018.

  1. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Today I got a camera, and I put my SD card in it and took lots of videos and pictures. I can view the pictures on my device with the SD card in, but when I go to videos it's just a black screen with audio. I don't know if it's just my device or what, even when saved to Google photos, they don't work.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Ok, so this is weird, it made an animation out of one of the videos I couldn't view in Google photos. What does this mean?!
     
  3. A bochur

    A bochur Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #108
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2016

    Jul 22, 2016
    593
    303
    193
    Male
    Possible the format is not read correctly by the phone. Try using VLC player app, and see if that helps
     
  4. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    For some reason they do work now, well most of them. Maybe they had to be processed?
     
  5. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Thanks, VLC worked 😀👍
     
    A bochur likes this.
  6. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I took a bunch of videos, and they are all corrupted or something because when I open them, it says '0:00' and stops. I'm so angry... 😡
     
  7. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

  8. A bochur

    A bochur Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #108
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2016

    Jul 22, 2016
    593
    303
    193
    Male
    What about vlc, do they work there?

    It's possible that some videos won't work with vlc either, in that case, try playing them on a pc
     
    Member2047631 likes this.
  9. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    No, I made it to where VLC is the default app to open AVI files. And I originally tried them in VLC anyway, and nothing. I'll try it in a PC... I really hope it works

    It couldn't open the files either.

    I took some more videos... They are corrupted too... Why

    https://youtu.be/FHdPldRkhTs
     
    #9 Member2047631, Mar 13, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 13, 2018
  10. Dannydet

    Dannydet Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,217
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016

    Jan 16, 2016
    3,217
    1,627
    818
    Male
    Graphics Manager / Sales
    USA
    What happens when you try putting the SD card directly into the PC before putting it in the phone?
    Somehow the videos are getting corrupt once inserted into the phone, I'm thinking.
     
  11. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    24,429
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    24,429
    13,481
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    AVI videos, which usually should play on Android, including VLC. But do you know what codec they're using, as AVI itself is only a container. What camera are you actually using to make them.
     
    Dannydet likes this.
  12. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I didn't format it. Every thing I take is getting corrupted.
     
  13. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    If I format it, will it delete everything on the SD card?
     
  14. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Most of the videos do work. Just this morning the ones I've made don't play. I need to format it. But I'm using up like 20 GB, so if it does delete everything, I don't know where to move all my stuff...
     
  15. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Actually, I'm using 31 GB...
     
  16. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

  17. Xavier Black

    Xavier Black Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #148
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    516
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015

    Sep 21, 2015
    516
    177
    113
    Male
    What kind of phone you have?, because if you have big enough space on your actual phone you can move them there for a minute..then format the actual SD CARD, then move them there back again..
     
  18. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    '16 GB' even though system is using up 8. I moved the files to our computer for now, I formatted the SD card for the camera. Now is it ok if I put the SD card in my device and use it? Or would I have to format it over and over...
     
  19. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I put the SD card back into my device, I hope I don't have to format it again when I put it back into the camera. If I do, then what's the point?! Delete all your stuff every time?
     
  20. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    This is weird... Now instead of it saying 'Samsung SD card' it says SD-FAT32, and instead of having 59 GB, it has like 28! What the heck?
     
  21. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Wait... Before I formatted the SD card, I had 28 GB left. What does this mean?!
     
  22. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I think I understand... When I first got this SD card, I used it for apps. Then I formatted it for my device, and then it had 59 GB left. It must have been because I was using 5 GB for apps before, I remember that. So since I had 28 GB left before this, now it can only have that much?! Why? Is there a way to make it still have 64 GB? Because it seems like a rip off for it to do that each time you format it...
     
  23. Dannydet

    Dannydet Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,217
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016

    Jan 16, 2016
    3,217
    1,627
    818
    Male
    Graphics Manager / Sales
    USA
    How are you formatting the card?
    In the camera or on a PC or in the phone as adaptable or external?
    Fat32?
     
  24. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    In the camera. If I don't, the files corrupt like I said above.
     
  25. Member2047631

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    But why doesn't it give you back 64 GB after you remove everything from it? Seems kind of cheap on the SD card creator's part...
     

Share This Page

Loading...