1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Can't activate phone after flashing SBF

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Aggie12, Sep 9, 2010.

  1. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    So I just flashed the SBF back onto my phone with RSD lite and now when it makes the call to activate my phone it asks me to put in my 10 digit number and says please wait while we transfer your call. Umm. Don't know what to do now. Please help!:thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. humungus

    humungus Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    124
    39
    43
    Factory reset should do the trick.
     
    Aggie12 likes this.
  3. SimsDelt

    SimsDelt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,067
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    1,067
    246
    143
    Project Manager - SAS Construction
    Bremen, Georgia
    Yup... boot into factory recovery and then press "factory reset".
     
    Aggie12 likes this.
  4. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    still saying unable to program your phone. and it's asking me to call a number. don't think i should call it incase they find out i was once rooted? i mean what would i say.

    edit: and i did a factory reset and rebooted.
     
  5. jdaud

    jdaud Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    144
    69
    73
    Ohio
    Same thing happened to me last week. I ended up calling VZW tech support and they walked me through 're-programming' my phone. Shouldn't be a big problem
     
  6. aloha.android

    aloha.android Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    209
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    *228 is usually how you would reactivate your phone.

    I haven't flashed the sbf yet so I am not quite sure if this would be the solution to your problem.
     
  7. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    well the old adage "third times a charm" really came through for me. I thought i was going to be without a phone all day in classes. After three factory resets and many many attempted programmings it finally worked. Thanks guys! I love this community! So responsive at such odd hours :D
     
  8. cooley_l

    cooley_l Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    Just in case this happens to me , you meant that when asked for the 10 digit number , you put in your phone number and then they said "please wait while we transfer your call" , right. I'm a noob so forgive the silly question.
     
  9. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    Yes that is exactly what happened and it shouldn't happen. Should just hear background music until it says your phone has been programmed successfully.
     
    cooley_l likes this.
  10. Piiman

    Piiman Android Expert
    Rank:
     #164
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,333
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,333
    153
    143
    If it has issues it will transfer you to a csr who will do it. They don't care if you were rooted just tell them you didn't a factory reset if they ask
     
  11. Riverdome

    Riverdome Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    41
    5
    16
    I had the same problem a few weeks ago. Eventually a VZW tech walked me through 'manual activation' steps. Thankfully I documented the steps in case I need to do this again after my next update.
     

Share This Page

Loading...