1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Can't boot into recovery - Galaxy S7 G930A

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Android Question, Jul 28, 2016.

  1. Android Question

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Hello all.

    I'm new to modifying my android (Galaxy S7 G930A) and could use some help. I have successfully rooted my phone, but have had some issues trying to flash a custom recovery. I was trying to flash TWRP but for some reason it didn't work, and I would always boot into the stock recovery.

    Today, I screwed something up while trying to figure out my host of issues (I was also trying to figure out why I kept getting a "dm-verity verification failed" notice when flashing). Using the TWRP Manager app, I tried to install the recovery that way and it kept giving me an error that it was either already installed or encountered an issue of some kind. Knowing it wasn't installed, I looked for a different route. Long story short, I downloaded Flashify and then manually downloaded and flashed the TWRP recovery img and a "no-verity-opt-encrypt" file - which I read would fix the dm-verity error I was receiving.

    I believe that's all I did before this recovery boot issue starting occurring.

    Now, when attempting to boot into recovery (no matter what way, through an app, manually, etc) the blue text "Recovery Booting..." appears for half a second and then disappears. If I'm holding down the buttons it will flash again and disappear again, over and over. If I don't hold down the buttons, when it disappears the phone boots up as normal. So now I can't seem to access recovery at all. I wanted to try going the hard/factory reset route, but obviously can't because I can't access recovery.

    Can anyone help me out here? Sorry for the long post, I'm just really frustrated.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,914
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    3,914
    2,845
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    AT&T locks the bootloader on its devices. To my knowledge,you cannot install a custom recovery.
     
  3. pif9000

    pif9000 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2016

    Jul 28, 2016
    2
    0
    5
    OP here.

    So I guess my question then is two-fold.
    A) How do I fix the problem of being unable to access Recovery? I can't seem to find a current version of Stock firmware to "restart" my phone so-to-speak.
    B) Will I be able to install a custom ROM for using mods like Xposed? Or am I just stuck with a rooted phone and crap stock firmware (and a messed up stock recovery)?
     
  4. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,914
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    3,914
    2,845
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
  5. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,914
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    3,914
    2,845
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
  6. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,914
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    3,914
    2,845
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
  7. pif9000

    pif9000 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2016

    Jul 28, 2016
    2
    0
    5
    I happened to stumble across that exact same thread - I'm downloading the zip to my phone now.

    I'm just wondering if it'll fix any of my problems. I'm assuming the ROM will overwrite everything.

    Also - appreciate the help.
     
  8. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,914
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    3,914
    2,845
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    The first link should put you back to stock then you would need to root again to use the deodexed rom in the last link.
    Happy to help and hope it works
     

Share This Page

Loading...