1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Can't boot to teamwin recovery

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by barrrrrrrrrr10, Aug 21, 2016.

  1. barrrrrrrrrr10

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012

    Jun 23, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    I'm trying to Install CyanogenMod on my Samsung Galaxy S III, while using this guide
    http://wiki.cyanogenmod.org/w/Install_CM_for_i9300

    For that end I need to install a new recovery mode.

    Everything seem to work fine, until I'm trying Manually reboot the phone into recovery mode, the newly teamwin recovery( (Flashed with heimdall ), when I try that (holding vol up+powr+home in the download mode after flashing the new recovery mode) it gets me to "downloading do not turn off target" screen. if I reboot and try again the "vol up+powr+home", this time it gets me to the stock rom recovery.

    Maybe I am unable to install new recoverys? how can I know that?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,913
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    3,913
    2,844
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    Never used Heimdall, always Odin and Windows PC.
    Most S3's stock recovery will overwrite the custom at reboot. To over come this, uncheck Auto Reboot if Heimdall has it. After you successfully flash TWRP, unplug phone and remove the battery. Replace the battery after a few seconds and use the button combination to boot into TWRP recovery.
    To insure TWRP sticks, flash SuperSU update zip. Reboot phone and locate SuperSu app and open it. Follow any prompts to update binary.
     
    mydian likes this.
  3. barrrrrrrrrr10

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012

    Jun 23, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    Again, i'm in the "downloading... Do not turn off target!!"
    How do I "uncheck Auto Reboot" if there is ? where can I see that option?
     
  4. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,913
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    3,913
    2,844
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    Not familiar with Heimdall. To prevent stock recovery from overwriting TWRP, disconnect phone and remove the battery after you flash TWRP. Replace the battery and use the button combination to boot into recovery, hopefully TWRP.
    When in TWRP, use it to flash SuperSU update zip. This will root the phone and prevent the overwrite.
    In Odin, you have a options tab that you can uncheck Auto Reboot, didn't know how Heimdall worked.
     
  5. barrrrrrrrrr10

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012

    Jun 23, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    I did as you say but I get "downloading... Do not turn off target!!" screen and not the TWRP recovery screen
     
  6. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,913
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    3,913
    2,844
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    Booting into recovery from off, volume up + home + power should take you to recovery. Strange that it is taking you back to download mode.
     
  7. barrrrrrrrrr10

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012

    Jun 23, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    Its not the Odin "download mode" its just this screen (see uploaded file)
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,913
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    3,913
    2,844
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    If the recovery is successfully transferred, step #8 in the link, and you follow 9&10, it should work. Don't know why it won't boot into recovery. The no reboot command is in step 7.
    Only thing I can think of is maybe bad download of the .img file. You could delete the one you have and try a different download.
    https://dl.twrp.me/i9300/twrp-3.0.2-1-i9300.img.html
     
  9. barrrrrrrrrr10

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012

    Jun 23, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    Well it works now, you were right maybe the img file was bad download.

    so now after I am in the new recovery mode screen I need to do the "flash SuperSU update zip" ? from where and how? plus should I backup the files before I wipe everything ?
     
  10. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,913
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    3,913
    2,844
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    If you plan on flashing CM rom, they have their own system for managing root. If you want to root and make a rooted stock backup, flash SuperSU update zip first.
    https://download.chainfire.eu/969/SuperSU/UPDATE-SuperSU-v2.76-20160630161323.zip

    Before you flash CM, make a backup. I usually save mine to SD card.
    You preform your wipe before flashing CM.
    When changing roms, I do Advanced Wipe, System, Data and both Caches.
     
  11. barrrrrrrrrr10

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012

    Jun 23, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    I am going to install new cm rom so now i'm backing up all the system and data and caches to external USB flash drive, when it is done i'll wipe.

    If I copy the new rom installation folder to the "Internal Storage" in the pc ( so I can install it from there) , before the wipe, when wipe will it not delete the new rom installation folder as well?

    And after the new rom installation will the teamwin recovery stick or get overwriten again?
     
  12. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,913
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    3,913
    2,844
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    I copy all zip files to SD card that way you can be sure that a wipe will not affect them.
    When you are ready and select Install, choose install from SD card.
     
  13. barrrrrrrrrr10

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012

    Jun 23, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    Is it ok to do that with USB flash drive? I don't have sd card
     
  14. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,913
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    3,913
    2,844
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    Yes. As long as Recovery supports OTG.
    Have had to do that with a few devices that doesn't have a SD card slot.
     
  15. barrrrrrrrrr10

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012

    Jun 23, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    LOL Man... that moment that I clicked on "wipe" was so frightening,,,

    Everything works fine now!!! thanks you are the best!!
     
  16. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,913
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    3,913
    2,844
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    Glad you got it sorted, happy to help.
     
  17. barrrrrrrrrr10

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012

    Jun 23, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    Is there a way to display contacts only with phone numbers? because it shows all of them (even the Gmail ones which are not my contacs at all..)
     
  18. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,913
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    3,913
    2,844
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    I googled a few things today with no clear cut results.
    You may want to start another thread and ask this question in the main forum questions area to get more views. Seems to be more related to Google contacts or CM roms not just the S3.
    Sorry I couldn't be more helpful.
     
    barrrrrrrrrr10 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...