1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Support Can't connect samsung fascinate to my pc to transfer files

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by corazonflores, Jan 31, 2011.

  1. corazonflores

    corazonflores Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    Jan 31, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    first time I tried to connect my phone to my pc with usb cord. First it said unknown device and some how I got my pc to recognize it as my samsung. I go to my computer and it shows removable disk every time I plug the device in. when I click it tells me to insert disc. I have my.debugging on. usb settings are set for mass storage. When I connect the cord it tells me to mount and I click mount. when I connect it to my laptop it connects fine and I can transfer my files fine lap top is windows vista. The pc I am having trouble connecting to is xp. Can't figure out whats wrong
     

    Advertisement

  2. PSkeptic

    PSkeptic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011

    Jan 10, 2011
    905
    97
    78
    IT Project Manager
    Buffalo, NY USA
    Download the Samsung drivers from here: Samsung

    Make sure your phone is NOT connected. Install the drivers. Then try to plug the phone in.

    If that doesn't work, unmount the SD card (Settings --> SD Card --> Unmount). Take the card out. Turn off phone. Turn phone back on. Once it's booted up all the way, put the card back in. Now try it on the computer.
     
    corazonflores likes this.
  3. speedfreak

    speedfreak Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    106
    8
    36
    Do a search there is a long thread on this topic... Some phones just won't work after the DL09 update. Mine is one... I have done it all and had to root to get it connected
     
  4. AlissaLL3

    AlissaLL3 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010

    Dec 25, 2010
    103
    9
    56
    Female
    Arizona

    I had to root my Fascinate to get my usb to work again after the OTA update to 09. Not really a big deal for me since I was planning to anyways, but not really fair or right, to force users to do so. BUT rooting is super simple and fun! =)
     
  5. corazonflores

    corazonflores Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    Jan 31, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Thank you after being so frustrated your advise fixed my problem. I dont know which one but I did both before I tried again. Thanks again
     
  6. PSkeptic

    PSkeptic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011

    Jan 10, 2011
    905
    97
    78
    IT Project Manager
    Buffalo, NY USA
    Be forewarned, this seems like a temporary fix... I periodically have to step through it all again :(
     
  7. momoe65

    momoe65 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010

    Mar 15, 2010
    2
    0
    5

    how did you root without usb connection???
     

Share This Page

Loading...