1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Can't connect to my computer anymore.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Duros, Jun 16, 2012.

  1. Duros

    Duros Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012

    Jun 16, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    I don't know what the hell is going on, and I feel silly for having to ask for help for this type of problem. For some reason my GS2 won't connect to my computer anymore to transfer files. I've already tried checking and unchecking usb debugging and restarting everything. When debugging is unchecked, all I see is "mtp connected" on my phone. But the computer doesn't detect it. When it's checked, nothing happens at all. This just happened one day out of nowhere, not long after it was working just fine.


    Also, is there any way to get the battery to charge faster? Damn thing takes forever even when no apps are running.
     

    Advertisement

  2. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,098
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,098
    27,850
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    If you still want to connect via MTP, just try a different USB port. That will usually clear it up. Otherwise before you plug in your phone, go to menu>settings>applications>usb utilities and select storage mode.

    Using the A/C charger will charge your phone much faster than a USB connection.
     
  3. Duros

    Duros Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012

    Jun 16, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    I don't seem to have usb utilities under the applications tab. and I've already tried every usb port on my computer. I'm still googleing the problem. I'm tempted to just do a system reset and see if that helps.

    As for charging. I've always been doing it with the wall charger. It always takes 10 minutes to charge 1%.
     
  4. Duros

    Duros Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012

    Jun 16, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    I did a factory reset. I tried to re-install the drivers by using kies. It still doesn't connect to my computer via usb. I've tried every port, restarted everything multiple times. I just don't get it. I've never had so many random problems with one gadget until I bought this android piece of trash.

    Anyone else have any suggestions? I'm really beginning to hate this phone now.
     
  5. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,098
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,098
    27,850
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    you might try uninstalling Kies completely and re-installing it from a fresh download.
     
  6. Duros

    Duros Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012

    Jun 16, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    It actually was a fresh download. But I'll go ahead and do it again. I also tried hooking it up to my other computer and nothing happened. It didn't even try to install the drivers from the phone. There has to be something simple that I'm missing.

    It also doesn't make the connect/disconnect sound on the PC.
     
  7. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,098
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,098
    27,850
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Make sure you are using the original USB cable. These phones can be very fussy about cables.
     
  8. robhs

    robhs Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    175
    16
    38
    Dayton, OH

    That is very true. I had trouble with three AT&T branded "data" cables. I finally bought a cable from radioshack and have had no trouble since.
    It was expensive, but it was worth it to not to have to deal with the connection headaches.
     
  9. Duros

    Duros Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012

    Jun 16, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    I had actually been thinking about that. I have been using the original cable, and I don't get a connection sound on any computer I hook it up to. Which is very odd. I think it might just be that the cable went bad. I just didn't think of it before, because it still charges. I'm going to go buy a new cable and see if it works. Maybe I'll get lucky and my phone will charge faster too.
     
  10. Duros

    Duros Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012

    Jun 16, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Alright. It was the cable after all. The stock cable went to shit. I just bought a new one and everything works again. Thanks for the help. :)
     
  11. bumwithshoes

    bumwithshoes Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    40
    4
    16
    My Solution:there's a small tab where cable plugs into phone this gets pressed down over time causing cable to lose connectivity.I used small screw driver to center tab to get firm cable fit and presto connected on first try.Fifteen minutes later I got me some ICS!!!
     
  12. Duros

    Duros Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012

    Jun 16, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Thanks for the input; But I already fixed the problem. It was just a bad USB cable.
     
  13. mepothier

    mepothier Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012

    Sep 11, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I've had the exact same problem as Duros, BUT the cable change didn't help. I also had a charging problem at the same time. That seems to have been fixed with another charger/cable, but this USB issue is a total mystery. I baby this phone, had it one year, no problem till now. But it's frustrating.
     
  14. Wayn3t3ch

    Wayn3t3ch Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012

    Nov 27, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    Male
    Somebody help!!! I bought a Samsung Galaxy S2 (SGH-I777) AT&T. It will not connect to a mac or a pc. It's running 2.3.5 and i just want to update the firmware. Iv'e been through every forum tried every combination possible and bought 3 different cables and I have gotten nowhere!
     
  15. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,098
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,098
    27,850
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Have you downloaded and installed Samsung Kies?
     
  16. Wayn3t3ch

    Wayn3t3ch Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012

    Nov 27, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    Male
  17. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,098
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,098
    27,850
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Okay, a couple of questions.

    Did you buy the phone new from AT&T or is it a 2nd hand phone?

    Has it been rooted or flashed with custom firmware?

    When you plug it it does the phone do anything? Any notification? Does it at least show as charging?

    Is USB debugging enabled? If it is, turn it off. I think its under menu>settings>Wireless and Networks (or it could be under developer options) It's been so long since I worked with 2.3 :(
     
  18. Wayn3t3ch

    Wayn3t3ch Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012

    Nov 27, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    Male
    It hasn't been rooted or flashed and it was bought second hand. It will charge and the phone says the usb is connected. I've tried unchecking usb debbugging and it doesnt do anything :/
     
  19. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,098
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,098
    27,850
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Okay, you get usb connected .... when you drag down the notification bar and tap on USB connected, do you get a prompt to connect as storage?

    If you want to connect to Kies, you must be in "Kies Mode" If I recall correctly, you can go to menu>settings>applications>usb utilities and select the default mode. I always checked "ask on connection" so I could select how I wanted it to connect at the time of plugging it in.
     
  20. Wayn3t3ch

    Wayn3t3ch Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012

    Nov 27, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    Male
    It doesn't give me any options to do that
     
  21. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    33,098
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    33,098
    27,850
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    It might be under menu>settings>Wireless & Network>USB Utilities. Samsung kept moving it around between Android Versions.
     
  22. Wayn3t3ch

    Wayn3t3ch Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012

    Nov 27, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    Male
    Nope, It doesn't give me an option anywhere to change any connection settings. Under usb utilities it just says connect to pc storage
     
  23. yomgina

    yomgina Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012

    Dec 9, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I had the same problem since more than one month, I tried every thing is written here and it does not work, my phone is GS2 GT-I9100G, Android version 2.3.6 I want to solve this problem in order to update to icecream sandwich.
    Even I tried to update with internet wi-fi but it didn't work and give me a message that No available update.
    Can some body HELP !!!!
     
  24. surendrasuri

    surendrasuri Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012

    Dec 9, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    ive been facing a different prblem its s2 i777 at n t phn..it doesnt indicate ny charging pop ups n alla it charges directly and also the usb doesnt get connect to pc.neither in pc nor in phn i get d notic of usb connected ,,even the light wont get turned on when it is connected to pc.... any body suggest me..
     
  25. surendrasuri

    surendrasuri Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012

    Dec 9, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    ive been facing a different prblem its s2 i777 at n t phn..it doesnt indicate ny charging pop ups n alla it charges directly and also the usb doesnt get connect to pc.neither in pc nor in phn i get d notic of usb connected ,,even the light wont get turned on when it is connected to pc.... any body suggest me..
     

Share This Page

Loading...