1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Can't copy/paste from an email?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by eraser, Nov 7, 2009.

  1. eraser

    eraser Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009

    Oct 9, 2009
    51
    2
    36
    I forgot my password to this very site, so I reset it from my droid.

    A couple of seconds later I receive an email with my temporary password, I try to copy it to paste it into the login window in the browser and ...

    I find myself at a loss on how to copy text from an email.

    I google around and find this: How do you copy/paste text from the Gmail app? - Android Community Forums

    It says it is not possible? :thinking: (the provided workaround does not work)

    This is a major bummer, I've been doing this on my old BlackBerry for years.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Carl C

    Carl C Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    238
    Posts:
    6,062
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,062
    38
    238
    Student
    London
    I know what you mean....... Hopefully Google will get this sorted......Eventually :rolleyes:
     
  3. kg6epf

    kg6epf Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    199
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    199
    99
    53
    So Cal
    Slide open the keyboard, hold shift and slide your finger across the text you want copied to the clipboard.
     
  4. joscon

    joscon Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    38
    0
    15

    thank you !!!
     
  5. stewp97

    stewp97 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    7
    0
    5
    So another dumb question, how do you paste it, say in the browser search bar?

    thanks, peter
     
  6. stewp97

    stewp97 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    7
    0
    5
    Ah, figured it out. Hold menu and V. Nevermind
     
  7. gehx

    gehx Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    9
    0
    25
    how do u slide open the kb...all it does for me is scroll the message up :thinking:
     
  8. Carl C

    Carl C Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    238
    Posts:
    6,062
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,062
    38
    238
    Student
    London
    Damn those who have a Physical Keyboard! {I have a HTC Magic} :D
     
  9. FireChief

    FireChief Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    This is a great find. (how to copy text from an email in the gmail app)

    Awesome... Thanks!
     
  10. radikal

    radikal Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    928
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    928
    10
    63
    they did think of a lot on this phone, still a few bugs, but they thought of a lot!
     
  11. mystik1

    mystik1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009

    Dec 5, 2009
    131
    1
    36
    Male
    NC, USA
    I can get it to copy a little text, but not multi-line. Any thoughts?
     
  12. mcs9b

    mcs9b Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    I was unable to copy more than a line and a half of text either.....anyone know what to do?
     
  13. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    If you use the trick mentioned about using the physical keyboard it will continue to select as much as you want as long as you don't let go of the Shift key.
     
  14. mcs9b

    mcs9b Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    That seems to work for long lines of text, but when I tried to select a snail mail address from an email that was four lines long, each line being fairly short, I was unable to select more than a line-and-a-half or so of text.
     
  15. KeithG

    KeithG Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    46
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    103
    3
    46
    Learn something new everyday......

    You got some rep for that one :)
     
  16. SinfulDragon

    SinfulDragon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    614
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    614
    36
    88
    Network Admin
    Indiana
    now, how do you forward an email as an MMS/SMS? God I miss that feature
     
  17. Sidecar

    Sidecar Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    7
    0
    25
    Graphic Designer
    Minneapolis
    How do you copy text from an email on the nexus one? I've tried long pressing and shift+S and a few other things. Do you need a physical keyboard to copy and paste?

    **I'm not talking about in a text field, I'm talking about a received email**
     
  18. thumper300zx

    thumper300zx Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010

    Mar 3, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    "Slide open the keyboard, hold shift and slide your finger across the text you want copied to the clipboard."

    You are today's Droid savior.
     
  19. Polymira

    Polymira Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009

    Oct 11, 2009
    82
    4
    16
    Chico, Ca
    Too bad it's usually impossible to be accurate with copying this way as your finger covers the text you are copying and you don't get anything like the iPhone magnifying glass.

    Btw, another way to paste is just long press on a text input area and tap paste.
     
  20. thumper300zx

    thumper300zx Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010

    Mar 3, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    So, just zoom in before you copy.

    ...however, here's a question -- if you want to copy a block of data and the darn screen keeps scrolling...how do you stop that?
     
  21. edawerd

    edawerd Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    19
    3
    16
    "copy paste it" will copy paste from anywhere on your phone

    It copies text from any screen/app.

    It requires a rooted phone
     
  22. phoneturf

    phoneturf Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    I tried Copy Paste It and it works great. Thanks for the tip!

    However, I am new to android and am shocked that this functionality is not built-in to the OS already, unlike in every smartphone I have owned in the last 5 years. Haven't we been making fun of iphones for years for not having copy/paste? Then again, I just discovered I stepped back 10 years in bluetooth technology when I bought a 2.1 phone, so I should not have been surprised.
     
  23. gwlaw99

    gwlaw99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,030
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    1,030
    53
    128
    In gmail hit the menu key, then "more", then select text. Then slide your finger from the beginning of the text to the end of the text you want to copy. Same method for browser.
     
  24. kwiknikk

    kwiknikk Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    11
    0
    15
    Doesnt work for me in gmail like it does in my browser. I hear 2.2 gives gmail an easy copy/paste though
     
  25. gwlaw99

    gwlaw99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,030
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    1,030
    53
    128
    Woops, I am using a rooted 2.2 ROM. I forgot 2.1 did not have that.
     

Share This Page

Loading...