1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root can't copy tasker apk to system/apps using root explorer

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by marlonbrando, Sep 21, 2011.

  1. marlonbrando

    marlonbrando Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    Hi,

    I've been following peoples posts on how to convert apps to system apps. I'm trying to get tasker to work with enabling gps, and people have mentioned converting to a system app would do the trick.

    I bought root explorer
    copied net.dinglisch.android.taskerm-2.apk from /data/apk
    enabled rw access on system/app
    pasted
    but nothing is copied over?

    I have tried numerous times and it doesn't copy anything over even though it briefly shows the copy progress bar.

    Any thoughts?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,929
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,929
    19,448
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    At the risk of asking the obvious, are you S-Off?
     
  3. adskankster

    adskankster Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    142
    21
    38
    IT
    Sheffield
    Have you tried doing it using ADB? When I had to install Market to System, it only worked via ADB. You have to mount System as rw. I assume you know how to do that and that is what you mean in your 3rd step?

    Also, it's worth double checking, if you did remount System, that it *was* System and not a different device. It varies per phone, and if you followed someone else's instructions it could have been the wrong one.
     
  4. shauny13

    shauny13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,274
    303
    163
    Male
    Beautiful Dorset
    Like hadron says, you have to be s-off to write to system using root explorer.
     
  5. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    just chiming onto the end, although root explorer is an invaluable purchase if s-off, titanium quite neatly has a convert to system app function.
     
  6. marlonbrando

    marlonbrando Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    ah damit my bad, my phone is currently s-on, which makes sense as root explorer or titanium pro migration didn't work.

    I'm going to follow this guide now and get s-off.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...