1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Can't dial *86(voicemail) after flashing MIUI

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JLO73, Feb 21, 2011.

  1. JLO73

    JLO73 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    I flashed to latest version of MIUI and when I dial *86 for v/m it gives me the message "your call cannot be completed as dialed, please check the number and try again. Thank you for using corr wireless." I currently have no voicemail on my phone. This is the first rom I have flashed and just rooted my phone last week. Please help.

    HTC Incredible on Verizon
     

    Advertisement

  2. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #63
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    Try *86+ (hold down the zero key) or make sure your voicemail settings are correct. Menu > settings >personal > call settings (voicemail is at the bottom)
     
  3. JLO73

    JLO73 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    Just tried that and am getting the same message.
     
  4. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Can you make any phone calls? If not, may have to *228. I've had it happen a few times when flashing AOSP roms but not for some time now so this may be a problem of the past.
     
  5. JLO73

    JLO73 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    I can make and receive calls just fine. Have done *228 option 1. I called my number from my work cell and instead of going to v/m when I don't answer it says call cannot be completed as dialed.
     
  6. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #63
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    Did you check your voicemail settings on the phone?

    What happens when you call your own number from the cell phone?
     
  7. JLO73

    JLO73 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    Yes. V/M settings are correct.

    V/M was working fine before I flashed.
     
  8. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    There's one other fluke I've had with a few Roms. Had an issue where I couldn't dial out when starting the entry with a * for some reason. Verify by watching the call as it's placed and ensure it's going out as *86 and not just 86 which still seems to go through to Verizon but yields the message you mentioned.
     
  9. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #63
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    I'm currently on miui and have never had a problem, maybe try reflashing.
    Are you on the 1.2.19 version?
     
  10. JLO73

    JLO73 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    Thanks guys for the help. Seems to be working now. I dialed *86+ and got thru to the v/m. Just called from my work cell and it went to my v/m. Seems I have to put a + on the end of it for it to work.
     
  11. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #63
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    That's weird, might be a bug in the newest release, *86 alone has worked in every other version. *228 has always required "+" at the end though.
     
    iowabowtech likes this.
  12. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Good call man, you nailed it clear back in post #2. Never heard of that one.
     
  13. JLO73

    JLO73 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    I tried *86 without the + and it works now. Between all the posts I dialed *228 and option 2 and updated the prl. That must have been what fixed it. Thanks again for the help.
     

Share This Page

Loading...