1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Can't Download Apps without WIFI??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by BoolaJosh, Nov 20, 2011.

  1. BoolaJosh

    BoolaJosh Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011

    Nov 20, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Just recently got a Droid Bionic.. Seems like the only time i can download Apps is using the WIFI @ my school. The WIFI at my house doesnt even let me download apps. Is there a reason for this? Why cant i download apps like my previous droid did.. with no wifi required?

    Any input would be awesome.. Thanks guys!

    Josh B.
     

    Advertisement

  2. UncleMike

    UncleMike Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,323
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    2,323
    484
    163
    Central NJ
    I can't go through the menus on my phone right now, but somewhere under battery and data settings is the ability to restrict market downloads to Wifi only. I can't explain why it won't work at your house, but I would check this setting regardless.
     
  3. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,243
    Posts:
    11,704
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,704
    4,845
    1,243
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Here's a far out question ... do you have WiFi enabled at both locations and it is BLue where 3G or 4G LTE is white?

    If yes ... turn off Wifi ... that will change the 3G or 4G LTE to Blue and you will then use it to download.

    It also sounds like you didn't setup Wifi in your home to actually be used. You have to look at the connections and tell it which one you want to use.

    ... Thom
     
  4. BoolaJosh

    BoolaJosh Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011

    Nov 20, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    I knew about that setting under the battery menu, and it is turned off

    Also, my house wifi is setup to be used.. i run my desktop and laptop off of the wifi with no problems at all. I can connect to the wifi at my house, and an app will start downloading.. but then it just stalls like nothing is happening...
     
  5. BoolaJosh

    BoolaJosh Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011

    Nov 20, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Ha! I got it.. I had the batter saver on.. thats all it was... Problem fixed! Thanks!
     

Share This Page

Loading...