1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Can't download new ROM

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by whitley40, Sep 17, 2009.

  1. whitley40

    whitley40 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009

    Aug 19, 2009
    5
    0
    5
    I've tried downloading the new ROM for my Hero (orange) and I've got the following error message after entering my serial number:

    Sorry, this software download is not suitable for your device.

    Does anybody else get this?
    Is there a way around it?
     

    Advertisement

  2. computerboyo

    computerboyo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009

    Aug 28, 2009
    107
    0
    35
    it is not phone your phone, you will have to wait until orange release their version unless you wanted to root it and install a custom ROM.
     
  3. whitley40

    whitley40 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009

    Aug 19, 2009
    5
    0
    5
    Ahh, cheers!
     
  4. mrfriedhoff

    mrfriedhoff Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    12
    0
    35
    I've got this same problem - I just got my unlocked hero(im in the us) and was trying to get the update but it keeps giving me that message... does that mean it's up to date already?
     
  5. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,551
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,551
    16,993
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    What is the build number shown in Settings - About phone?
     
  6. mrfriedhoff

    mrfriedhoff Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    12
    0
    35
    after reading some other post(no marketplace, etc) I've found its a SEA phone so I guess that would explain why the EURO download doesn't work...2.73.728.5 146733 CL#61267 release keys... am I right? I'm trying to go through this process http://androidforums.com/htc-hero/11370-total-noob-question.html Your post #35, to try and get what I need but I am not technically savvy with this kind of stuff so I hope I dont fk this phone up... I just want market place lol
     
  7. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,551
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,551
    16,993
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    Yup, that'll be why.

    Take it slow, follow the instructions, and you'll be fine. It's pretty much impossible to 'brick' the handset doing this, just make sure the battery has a good charge so that it won't run out during the flashing.
     
  8. mrfriedhoff

    mrfriedhoff Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    12
    0
    35
    oh ok thanks, that makes me feel better - I've got a full batt so I'm gonna give a shot - thanks man
     
  9. mrfriedhoff

    mrfriedhoff Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    12
    0
    35
    well i messed something up already in flashrec I chose the last button like they said in the first step(havent typed in the /sdcard/...etc info) - then it says flash complete and I have 3 buttons - download recovery image, restore backup image, reboot into recovery.... not Flash Recovery Image like it's supposed to..... now what?
     
  10. Diamond-Geezer

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    25
    0
    15
    United Kingdom
    Sorry to butt in but I'm thinking of updating the ROM myself this afternoon. Only got the Hero yesterday so never flashed it before. What happens if you are flashing it and get a phonecall?
     
  11. mrfriedhoff

    mrfriedhoff Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    12
    0
    35
    nevermind everyone i got it - geezer most of the time your phone wont be in a mode to accept a call anyways - do it and go with MoDaCo's updated rom :D
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...