1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Can't Edit Facebook Contacts on X2..?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by fastpicker89, May 21, 2011.

  1. fastpicker89

    fastpicker89 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    171
    11
    38
    I backed up my contacts from my evn3, switched to X2, and transferred my contacts to the X2. The phone numbers did not sync with my Facebook Contacts. Ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. fastpicker89

    fastpicker89 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    171
    11
    38
    Just hitting again... haven't gotten a response and it's really beginning to bug me
     
  3. hockeyfrog127

    hockeyfrog127 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010

    Mar 20, 2010
    9
    0
    25
    Pompton Lakes, NJ
    Go into contacts
    hit the menu hard key
    Display Options
    Under "choose contacts to display" find facebook
    Check "all contacts"

    Hope this helps, I spent about an hour trying to find this yesterday

    Now if I could find a way to link my gmail contacts with facebook accounts, so i didn't have to work through 300 facebook friends I rarely talk to.
     
  4. fastpicker89

    fastpicker89 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    171
    11
    38
    That box is checked by default. But I'm still having the same problem, too.
     
  5. Teegunn

    Teegunn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    967
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    967
    165
    93
    Male
    Weird..... it's these types of launch issues that frustrate.
     
  6. bradyapba

    bradyapba Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    208
    20
    38
    Mine isnt doing it either, and I cant figure it out either. I think its an issue.
     
  7. jinwons

    jinwons Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,280
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010

    Oct 19, 2010
    1,280
    121
    143
    OC, CA
    Hmm. This is not good if it's really bug. I was thinking of getting DX2 if I pass on Revolution.
     
  8. bradyapba

    bradyapba Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    208
    20
    38
    I think its a feature not turned on yet or missed. If you go into a facebook contact, thats in your contact list, and try to edit it, the orange triangle comes up and says "facebook contact information is not editable on this device".
     
  9. Teegunn

    Teegunn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    967
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    967
    165
    93
    Male
    That sucks because I use my FB app several times a day on my DX.
     
  10. Teegunn

    Teegunn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    967
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    967
    165
    93
    Male
    One can always use the mobile FB with their browser. It actually isn't bad.
     
  11. fastpicker89

    fastpicker89 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    171
    11
    38
    That's exactly what's happening with me. Took it to Verizon and they said it would sync in a few days but... firstly, that's stupid, and second, it's been a few days.
     
  12. fastpicker89

    fastpicker89 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    171
    11
    38
    Still no go. I contacted Motorola and got someone who was clearly not fluent English, so didn't at all understand what was going on, but I just told them to log it into their system. I figure I'm not the first or the last to tell them about the problem, so the more that tell them the better.

    For the record, the issue is still not resolved. I'm convinced it's a bug at this point.
     
  13. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    I'm trying to understand the issue here...is it that when you have the same contact on FB and on another service (Gmail, or Exchange, for example) the two contacts records aren't being joined automatically in contacts, or ?
     
  14. fastpicker89

    fastpicker89 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    171
    11
    38
    You know how phone numbers with names sync with your facebook contacts? It's not doing that. The option in the Facebook app for this to occur is not there. It doesn't let you scroll down to that point.
     
  15. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    Ah, finally, see what you mean....Other Settings is not accessible.
     
  16. fastpicker89

    fastpicker89 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    171
    11
    38
    Correct. You can see 'other' but you just cant scroll any further than that.
     
  17. secrecyguy

    secrecyguy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    May 14, 2011

    May 14, 2011
    83
    3
    36
    For it to work properly, the Facebook contacts and Google contacts must match exactly. For example, names and e-mail. If the name spelled slightly different with extra letter or space, it will think it is different.

    I finally found a program that will sync Facebook contacts with Google contacts. I will post link for it after I try it out.
     
  18. secrecyguy

    secrecyguy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    May 14, 2011

    May 14, 2011
    83
    3
    36
    I forgot one more thing, you can NOT edit Facebook contacts on the Android. Which make sense because when you on Facebook, you can't edit your friend's info.
     
  19. fastpicker89

    fastpicker89 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    171
    11
    38
    No dude, you should be able to do it without google accounts. It would be stupid if your google accounts had to match facebook and phone numbers. I don't email any of my friends.
     
  20. bradyapba

    bradyapba Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    208
    20
    38
    Im not sure what the problem is here. Mine synched just fine(though it took a couple of days before it popped). If I had a contact in my phone, that matched a contact I had in facebook, it synched, and they are linked. Now if they didnt "match exactly" it didnt, meaning it had to either match the phone # up (if your contact has thier # listed on their profile, or the name had to match exactly as to how it is on FB)

    And of course you cant edit a "facebook" contact on your droid, you never could, and not why one would ever need too.

    So are you saying, none of your phone contacts, synched with their facebook info, even though u know their info matches?
     
  21. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    Things worked that way on my wife's X2 as well...for all of her facebook contacts for whom she had a Gmail contact entry as well, the two "duplicate" contacts were automatically joined together...that feature (auto-joining matching contacts from multiple sources) worked very well.
     
  22. secrecyguy

    secrecyguy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    May 14, 2011

    May 14, 2011
    83
    3
    36
    I guess I don't understand the problem you are having. I thought you having duplicate contacts on your phone.
     
  23. secrecyguy

    secrecyguy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    May 14, 2011

    May 14, 2011
    83
    3
    36
    After copying all my information from Facebook to my Google contacts, I found two duplicates on my phone and it won't join together so I end up have to delete those two contact information and re-enter it on my Google Voice and than it join together on my phone.

    Here's the program that sync Facebook contacts with your Google contacts. I try it out. It works but not that great. I may have to run it again but it takes forever to run so it's best to run when you go to sleep.

    Make sure you read the description on this link on how to use it.

    https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/ficlccidpkaiepnnboobcmafnnfoomga
     
  24. fastpicker89

    fastpicker89 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    171
    11
    38
    I'll give this a go then check back.
     
  25. secrecyguy

    secrecyguy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    May 14, 2011

    May 14, 2011
    83
    3
    36

Share This Page

Loading...