1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Can't edit facebook contacts?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by caneaddict, Apr 20, 2010.

  1. caneaddict

    caneaddict Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010

    Feb 26, 2010
    65
    6
    16
    So my N1 automatically pulled all my contacts from Facebook. The thing is some of them don't have their numbers in their FB profile. When I go to the contact on my phone and try to edit in order to add a phone number, it says I can't edit facebook contacts? Anyone have this issue? How do I add a phone number to an existing fb contact?
     

    Advertisement

  2. crownrai

    crownrai Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    3
    1
    6
    Add a new Google contact with the same name as your FB contact. Android will merge the details from both services into one contact.
     
    caneaddict likes this.
  3. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    6,079
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    to the above, bingo... you cant edit anyones facebook profile, not even on facebook itself.
     
    caneaddict likes this.
  4. caneaddict

    caneaddict Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010

    Feb 26, 2010
    65
    6
    16
  5. Lo'oris

    Lo'oris Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Doesn't work anymore with Android 2.2 :/
     
  6. Talderon

    Talderon Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    1,038
    247
    163
    Microsoft Corp. - Sr. Systems Engineer
    Seattle, WA
    Not sure what you are doing, but works great for me. :)
     
  7. Lo'oris

    Lo'oris Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    I'm doing just that: creating a new contact with the same name.
    It worked on 2.1, it doesn't work now.
     
  8. Talderon

    Talderon Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    1,038
    247
    163
    Microsoft Corp. - Sr. Systems Engineer
    Seattle, WA
    Just make sure you have the email address that they use in Facebook added to the newly created contact so it can link their FB page to the contact.

    I think that's about the only real detail that you may have missed?

    Hope that helps.
     
  9. skytechnetwork.com

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    31
    0
    15
    Using your computer to go facebook and edit it :D
     
  10. karbosshack

    karbosshack Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    What I did was went to every duplicate I had and clicked on the non-FB one and "Edit contact" then did "Join" and joined it with the FB contact
     
  11. Lo'oris

    Lo'oris Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Oh, thanks, using join just worked.
    It was hidden so deep I couldn't find it.
     
  12. karbosshack

    karbosshack Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    I know same for me haha, glad it helped.
     
  13. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    6,079
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    what worked for me was logging out of facebook, then signing back in . worked like a charm
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...