1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root "can't establish a reliable data connection to the server" after backup restore

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by pret0rian, Mar 11, 2011.

  1. pret0rian

    pret0rian Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Greetings.

    I downgraded from GAOSP BETA 3 back to my Galaxo 1.6.3.4 + darksense nandroid backup because I got tired of the lag. After the restore I am no longer able to connect to Google account. Any ideas? I get the usual "can't establish a reliable data connection to the server" error.

    If I remember correctly I was able to make a backup of the account stuff with Titanium backup, but this restored OS doesn't have Titanium installed and I am unable to download it from the market. Is there a way to install market apps via pc?

    I am against hard reset as it kind of nullifies the usefulness of the backups but I am willing to do it if no other options are presented.

    I've been browsing the forums and was wondering if there is way to fool the phone to think it is the first setup again?

    Any help greatly appreciated!

    Cheers from Finland,

    pret0rian
     

    Advertisement

  2. weasel

    weasel Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    401
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    401
    23
    38
    Nuclear Operator (no shit !!)
    Renfrew, ON
    Check your apn settings. I bet something is missing and causing the lack of data connection. It happens to me everytime I flash.
     
  3. pret0rian

    pret0rian Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I have set my apn correctly and I also have wi-fi available. I can browse the internet via Opera. Only the Google services have problems. I know of this problem when ignoring the first setup after fresh install but I thought nandroid also backs up the Google login information.
     
  4. DaSchmarotzer

    DaSchmarotzer Blame it on me
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,087
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    3,087
    1,568
    313
    Studying
    Qu
    It does, that's the weird thing. Have you tried changing your google account password?
     
  5. weasel

    weasel Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    401
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    401
    23
    38
    Nuclear Operator (no shit !!)
    Renfrew, ON
    Have you tried clearing the cache ?? Go to settings, applications, manage apps. Find a Google one ( like the Market ) and clear data/cache. Might be worth a shot.
     
  6. lafitz

    lafitz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Wait! Before clearing your Google apps cache! That's when I started having the same problem as pret0rian. It began with a series of "unsuccessful downloads" from the market. So I cleared the caches for Google Talk, Maps, etc. Then when I tried to access Market, the "Set up your Google Account" page appeared. It's when I try to log in that I get the error message. After trying to communicate with Google servers, I am told that there may be a temporary error or my "sim card may not be provisioned for data services" even though I'm on wifi. Please help anybody!!! Laurie
     

Share This Page

Loading...