1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Can't figure out what version I have...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Alonski, Mar 7, 2010.

  1. Alonski

    Alonski Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    44
    0
    35
    It says I7500JIII1

    What does all this mean? Should I upgrade to IK5?
     

    Advertisement

  2. mrqs

    mrqs Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,446
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009

    I7500: phone model
    JI: country code
    II1: firmware date (I=200[9], I=september [9th month], 1=first build of the month)

    you might wanna update to ik5 (latest official), il3 (latest cupcake) or jb2 (latest donut)
     
  3. Alonski

    Alonski Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    44
    0
    35
    Thanks I guess I will update to IK5... Does it void my warrenty? Also how are you running a non-rooted donut?
     
  4. mrqs

    mrqs Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,446
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009

    if you can get it updated via nps (new pc studio, came with the phone, plus new version available from samsung's website somewhere) it won't void your warranty

    if you update it with odin (see sticky tutorials) it will void the warranty, tho' if something goes banans, but you can flash back to the original firmware (or any officially available there), they can't tell

    jb2 is a leaked (said to be official in france?) firmware that's based on donut - flashing any firmware doesn't require root, regardless of if you do it via nps or odin
     
  5. Alonski

    Alonski Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    44
    0
    35
    If something goes wrong I can always flash back? NPS doesn't work for me so I guess flashing to IK5 via Odin will be it.
     
  6. mrqs

    mrqs Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,446
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009

    as long as you have the firmware

    i've upgraded my firmware twice and both times i had to flash twice because the first try didn't take for whatever reason
     
  7. Alonski

    Alonski Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    44
    0
    35
    Hmm ok thanks... Umm I can't find a guide for flashing IK5 only II5... Is it the same thing?
     
  8. davyu

    davyu Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    92
    3
    16
    Out of curiosity, despite the firmware probably being available on the samsung firmware website somehow, is it possible to 'extract' the firmware from your phone using odin or something? (I'm on a work computer) so I can't check right now.
     
  9. mrqs

    mrqs Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,446
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009

    there are 2 types of firmware packages (that i know of), but both pretty much follow the same procedure
    the difference is, one contains files called pda, bootloader, csc and whatnot, which you flash by using those in odin (it'll be obvious when you look at it)
    the other is a .tar file that doesn't contain said files, but some others, including cache.img, which is the csc equivalent (which you'll prolly wanna remove)
    this kind you flash with the "one package" option in odin (also quite straight forward)

    i don't know which k5 & i5 are, but you can pretty much follow the same guide

    it is, but i don't know how, never bothered with it (i do know it's not with odin)
    look around here for talk of taking backups - i think nandroid has something to do with it
     
  10. Alonski

    Alonski Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    44
    0
    35
    So I just delete csc and then flash with odin? Thats it?
     
  11. Alonski

    Alonski Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    44
    0
    35
    I downloaded the II5 from the odin thread and it doesn't have csc or cache.img...
    Its a tar with these:
    amss
    kernal
    recovery
    system

    Looks good?
     
  12. mrqs

    mrqs Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,446
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009

    sure, tho' you'd be better off getting a newer firmware, i5 is hardly newer than your current i1
     
  13. Alonski

    Alonski Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    44
    0
    35
    Whats a newer version then? I just took this from the odin thread... Can you link me to the newest non 1.6 good release?
     
  14. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
  15. Alonski

    Alonski Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    44
    0
    35
    Thanks I checked there but didn't see. Will time to update lets hope everything goes well. BTW should I update to 1.6? Should I root? Why would I want to do those?
     
  16. mrqs

    mrqs Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,446
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009

    the current donut firmware is slightly buggier (varies from person to person, some have gone back to a cupcake firmware after trying it; i'm happy with it for now) than the latest cupcakes
    some apps require donut, for example google goggles, maps 4.0 etc.
    donut also introduces a new market app (not much new apart from the look and screenshots of the apps)

    rooting gives you access to quite a bit of general geeking around if you know what you're doing, plus some apps require root access
     
  17. Alonski

    Alonski Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    44
    0
    35
    Thanks... Gonna update to IK5 now... Maybe 1.6 in the future... and I might root for a bit of geeking around
     

Share This Page

Loading...